Right Here. Right Now. Wright State.

COVID-19 information and resources. Visit our Coronavirus website.

Pre-Award Services


The mission of pre-award staff in the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (RSP) at Wright State University is to assist eligible faculty and staff in the pursuit of external funding while assuring compliance with applicable regulations. The pre-award administrators provide assistance in the following areas: identifying potential internal and external funding sources; developing proposal budgets; facilitating compliance with federal, state, sponsoring agency, and university regulations; completing electronic applications and associated standard forms; submitting proposals to sponsoring agencies; negotiating contracts and other award agreements; accepting award documents; and providing workshops on various pre-award topics.

Internal Deadlines for Proposal Routing and Submission

Wright State University requires that all proposals for funding by external agencies go through an internal routing process prior to submission of the proposal. In order to ensure that all proposals receive the proper internal authorizations AND meet the sponsor’s deadline, RSP advises you of the following timeline:

  • Five (5) business days prior to the submission deadline RSP must receive:
    • Final budget (requested and cost share), budget justification, and abstract
  • Two (2) business days prior to the submission deadline:
    • Complete proposal ready for submission is due at RSP

RSP will not be held responsible for a late submission if the PI does not meet the established internal deadlines.

Pre-Award Administrator Points of Contact

Please contact the person listed below for your identified cohort for proposal submissions (as early as possible) or questions. Depending on deadline volume, you may be transferred to another pre-award administrator, but the person below should be your first point of contact.

Research Administrator

Campus/College/School Focus

Sheila Bensman, CRA

  • College of Engineering and Computer Science - (all except Computer Science and Engineering)
  • College of Science and Mathematics
  • Boonshoft School of Medicine - Neuroscience, Cell Biology, and Physiology 
  • Clinical Trials Research Alliance
  • Wright State Research Institute
  • All non-academic departments
  • Division of Student Success
  • Graduate Studies

Karie Maurer-Enneking
Assistant Director

  • Boonshoft School of Medicine (except Neuroscience, Cell Biology, and Physiology)
  • College of Health, Education, and Human Services
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science - Computer Science and Engineering 
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • Lake Campus
  • Raj Soin College of Business

Assistant Director

  • To be determined