Right Here. Right Now. Wright State.

COVID-19 information and resources. Visit our Coronavirus website.

Office of Disability Services

Golden Spoke Award

The Golden Spoke Award was created for honoring campus and community partners who go above and beyond in fostering a more inclusive and welcoming environment for our students with disabilities. Awards are presented annually each Spring Semester during the Office of Disability Services Scholarship Banquet.


Do you know of a faculty or staff member who has gone above and beyond? Is there a campus department or service provider who has done an exceptional job? Show your appreciation by nominating them for the Golden Spoke Award. Note: Anonymous nominations will not be considered. ODS staff members are not eligible to receive the award.

2021 Recipients of the Golden Spoke Award

  • Maggie Mejia, Opportunities for Ohioans with Disabilities
  • Ken Schmidt, Nursing

Past Recipients

  • Brian Rigling, Electrical Engineering (2019)
  • Molly Fore, Air Force Material Command (2019)
  • Cathryn Holm, Mathematics & Statistics (2018)
  • Mindy Diesslin, Mathematics & Statistics (2018)
  • Petey Peterson, Office of LGBTQA Affairs (2017)
  • Erik Potts, Mathematics and Statistics (2017)
  • Todd Pavlack, CTL (2017)
  • Ron Applegate, Physical Plant (2017)
  • Sarah Twill, Social Work (2017)
  • Debbie Whisler, CTL (2017)
  • Cathy Bussen, Office of Financial Aid (2016)
  • CaTS (2016)
  • Holiday Inn, Fairborn, Ohio (2016)
  • Fran Keeley, Office of the President (2016)
  • Pam Kelbley (2016)
  • NuMotion (2016)
  • Darin Russell, Parking & Transportation (2016)
  • Clark Shingledecker, Computer Science (2016)
  • Robert Sweeney, Office of the President (2016)
  • Seth Baugess, Office of Communications (2015)
  • Jeff Hiles, CTL (2015)
  • Jenny Daws, Residence Life and Housing (2015)
  • Will Jones, Office of Marketing (2015)
  • Michael Edwards, College of Science and Math (2015)
  • Kathy Warden, Facilities, Planning and Development (2015)
  • Ryan Hamilton, Electrical Engineering (2015)
  • Kathy Morris, Student Affairs (2014)
  • Ronald Taylor, Computer Science (2014)