Student Employee Scholarships & Awards

Kenneth L. Knight Award

photo of kenneth knightThe award is given in honor of Ken Knight, director of Intramural and Recreational Sports from 1969 to 1993. It is presented to recognize an outstanding Campus Recreation student employee or volunteer who demonstrates exemplary service and commitment to developing and administering recreational pursuits at Wright State University.

Ken was instrumental in the development of recreational pursuits including: intramural sports, sport clubs, and outdoor recreation activities for the campus community. Ken, affectionately known as "Fuzzy", worked many summers as a camp counselor in Wisconsin and received two degrees in recreation from Miami University.

Highlights of his 24 year career include the development of many activities that gathered students, faculty, and staff together on a largely commuter campus for recreational play and extra-curricular activities. In the mid 1980's, nearly 1,000 participants on five softball fields along Colonel Glenn Highway enjoyed softball. The Riding Club was one of the largest and most popular sport clubs due to the number of bridle trails throughout the undeveloped land on campus and the stable in the area, which is now the Nutter Center. Each summer, Ken organized and led adventurous members of the campus community on a wilderness canoe trip on the Flambeau River in Wisconsin or whitewater rafting in West Virginia.

While at Wright State, Ken also worked closely with the Department of Heath, Physical Education and Recreation as an adjunct instructor. His personable teaching methods and enthusiasm for recreational pursuits attracted the interests of many students. The classes he taught in basketball, canoeing, softball, and racquetball were some of the more popular HPR courses offered. It is estimated that he taught more than 300 courses and instructed approximately 10,000 students at Wright State.

He also provided extensive committee leadership for the university. His involvement in the renovation of the Physical Education Building ensured that an emphasis was placed on recreational activities in the Student Union. He was also very active in the National Intramural and Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA) at the state, regional, and national levels.

Past Recipients

  • Mason Knickerbocker, 2023
  • Sydney Giannuzzi, 2022
  • Tina Hohman, 2021
  • Dustin Rucker, 2020
  • Jacob Wells, 2019
  • Josiah Dipaolo, 2018
  • Pamala Michael, 2017
  • Samantha TenEyck, 2016
  • Alexandria Keller, 2015
  • Gabrielle Walsh, 2014
  • Amanda Tingley, 2013
  • Josh Elzey, 2012
  • Erin Gutman, 2011
  • Wesley Moosman, 2010
  • Rob Swihart, 2009
  • Annica Saunders, 2008
  • Bobby Parrett, 2007
  • Randi True, 2006
  • Ben Miller, 2005
  • Brian Humm, 2003
  • JT Bukiewicz, 2002
  • Theresa Bugner, 2001
  • Susan Griffith, 2000
  • Tara Ireland, 1999
  • Robyn Sanders, 1998
  • Dean Borchers, 1997