Coronavirus Update

Classes will be held remotely for the remainder of the spring semester, and all official university events and student activities are suspended until further notice. While the Dayton and Lake campuses remain open, access to campus is restricted to personnel who have been identified as essential. Read more.


OfficerWhen Wright State University was established in 1964, the Department of Security was formed. From 1980 to 1994 the department was combined with Parking Services but both departments are now autonomous. In 2003, the Wright State University Department of Public Safety officially changed its name to the Wright State University Police Department.

The department currently has 19 sworn officers, including the Chief of Police and a Lieutenant. These officers meet all state police training requirements and derive their police authority as provided in Section 3345.04 of the Ohio Revised Code. Officers are on duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week, patrolling the campus in marked cruisers, on foot and bicycles. Officers can be reached 24 hours a day through our Communications Center in 060 Allyn Hall.

In addition to the patrol division, other department units include: crime prevention, police records, administrative and support services, communications center, and investigations. The department also provides police and security coverage to the Ervin J. Nutter Center, a sports and entertainment complex serving the Southern Ohio Region. 

The department looks forward to continuing to fulfill its mission of providing a safe and secure environment for students, faculty, staff, and visitors of Wright State University.