Student Employee Scholarships & Awards

Lorna G. Dawes Achievement Award

photo of lorna dawesThis scholarship, named after Lorna Dawes, former director of the Wright State University Center from 1981-1992, is presented each year to continuing undergraduate or graduate students whose participation in co-curricular activities and involvement in the Student Union represents a commitment above and beyond prescribed expectations.

Lorna was instrumental in planning the renovation and expansion that transformed the University Center and Physical Education buildings into the Student Union. Her involvement on the planning committee ensured that an emphasis was placed on serving students.

During her years at Wright State, Lorna reinstated the annual Madrigal Dinner, which now enters its 24th season. By forming a strong partnership among the Department of Music, Dining Services, and the University Center, the program's quality and longevity were ensured. The dinner continues to be a holiday tradition for many in the community with attendance of over 1,500 patrons.

Lorna also administered the University Artist Series, working with students, faculty, and staff to select prominent artists who, in addition to their concert performances, visited schools in the Dayton community for informal presentations.

Her experience with Wright State included extensive committee leadership within the university and professional service at the state, regional, and national levels with the Association of College Unions International, the Association of Performing Arts Presenters, the Midwest Regional Arts Conference, the Ohio Arts Council Presenting/Touring Panel, which she has chaired, and the Ohio Arts Presenters Network, where she served as president.

After a brief period in New Jersey, Lorna returned to Dayton to serve as Executive Director of the Muse Machine, a highly successful arts education organization. Lorna continues to focus her energies on developing young people and their interest in the arts.

Past Recipients

  • Timea Tozser, 2023
  • Emma Porter, 2022
  • Sydney McGilton, 2021
  • Lauren MacGregor, 2020
  • Lauren MacGregor, 2019
  • Becca Endicott, 2018
  • Pamala Michael, 2017
  • Peter Blake, 2016
  • Jordan Yaney, 2015
  • Courtney Denlinger, 2014
  • McKenna Warfel, 2013
  • Christopher Ambrose, 2012
  • Haley Riegel, 2011
  • Haley Riegel, 2010
  • Ashley Appleman, 2009
  • Bradley Bertke, 2008
  • Lori Davis, 2007
  • Rachel Brand, 2006
  • Randi True, 2005
  • Mary Hinschlager, 2004
  • J.T. Bukiewicz, 2003
  • Iris Mirelez, 2002
  • Dyan Ebbesmeyer, 2001
  • Audrey Wisniewski, 2000
  • Amy Roper Walko, 1999
  • Kristen J. Huener, 1998
  • Holly Evers, 1997
  • Karen Donoghue, 1996
  • Darrel Reese, 1995
  • Rob Hoover, 1994