Faculty Constitution Meeting

Tab container

Academic Year: 
Wednesday, October 25, 2017, 2:30 pm
101 Fawcett Hall


Faculty Constitution Meeting Summary

 October 25, 2017

The Faculty Constitution meeting was attended by approximently 15 faculty members between Main Campus and the Lake Campus audio-feed.  Travis Doom (Faculty President) and Jonathan Winkler (Senate Parliamentarian, Quadrennial Review Chair) moderated the meeting, and Steven Pedler (Lake EC Rep) moderated the Lake Campus audio.

The meeting was called  to order at 2:30pm.  The moderators reviewed the proposed changes and opened the floor to questions.

Barry Milligan, Interim Associate Dean of the Graduate School, raised concerns about the elimination of the Graduate Council and incorporation of its committees into the Faculty Senate standing committees.  Jonathon Winkler explained the proposed change was put into place due to recurring general concerns about the dynamic between the Senate and the Councils (Athletics, Research, Graduate).  Specific to Graduate Council, the new Graduate Senate committees will have more equitable representation, and by removing the Graduate Council layer from the policy/curriculum workflow will allow Graduate issues to reach the Faculty Senate in a more timely manner.

No proposed motions or ammendments were made.

After a final call for more questions, Travis Doom adjourned the meeting at 2:50pm.

Voting will take place via online ballot over three consecutive days during the week of November 27, 2017.


December 4, 2017

The Faculty have voted to accept the proposed changes to the Faculty Constitution.

  • 769 ballots were sent to faculty eligible to vote
  • 193 ballots were cast (quorum of 100 met)
  • 174 faculty voted for approval
  • 19 faculty voted against approval of the proposed revision

Constitutional amendment requires a minimum of a 2/3rds majority in favor and with a minimum of 100 voting.  The vote has met both criteria and thus the revised constitution is approved by the Faculty to move forward to the Provost and Board of Trustees.

Additional Attachments: