Visit our Coronavirus website for all COVID-19 information and resources.

Tobacco-Free Campus

Our University. Our Health. Our Future.

Proud to be tobacco free!

Wright State University is committed to being a tobacco-free campus. We started to investigate this initiative almost five years ago with a task force comprised of faculty, staff, and students, as well as Public Health – Dayton and Montgomery County. After careful review, many surveys, and campus discussions, Wright State became tobacco free on July 1, 2017.

In order to promote a healthy environment in which to learn and work for our students, faculty, staff, and visitors, Wright State has adopted a Tobacco-Free policy. Read the Tobacco-Free policy.

We recognize the serious health consequences of tobacco use both to users and non-users. Tobacco is the leading cause of preventable death and disability in the United States, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The tobacco-free initiative encourages a cleaner and greener campus, while preparing our students for future tobacco-free environments.

In July 2012 the Ohio Board of Regents (presently the Ohio Department of Higher Education), recommended that all Ohio public universities become tobacco free. To date, eight other four-year schools in the Inter-University Council of Ohio are tobacco free or have announced plans to become tobacco free. Wright State will be the ninth. It joins more than 1,400 tobacco-free campuses across the country.

What is included?

The use of all types of tobacco products is prohibited in all university facilities, on all university-owned or leased grounds, including the woods, university-owned or operated residence halls and apartments at Dayton and Lake campuses, and at all university-sponsored events, regardless of location. The policy also applies to off-site buildings and grounds that are solely leased or occupied by Wright State University. Cessation gum, patches or other cessation products approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration are allowed.

This policy applies to anyone on campus including students, faculty, staff, visitors, consultants, vendors, patients, volunteers, and contractor employees.

Ready to quit? We’re here to help.

Wright State is committed to assisting smokers and tobacco users who choose to quit or cease tobacco use. The university is taking a variety of steps to assist our faculty, staff, and students. Smoking cessation programs will be offered for both the Dayton campus and Lake campus locations. In addition, resources provided by Impact Solutions (our faculty and staff assistance program), Anthem (our employee health care provider), and local public health agencies will be offered.

Working Together

We understand that becoming tobacco free will require a change in culture that will take time. The consideration and cooperation of tobacco users and non-tobacco users alike is needed to fully implement the policy. It is also important to note that this initiative does not require any individual to stop using tobacco products; such a decision is an individual’s choice.

Students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to take an active role in supporting this culture change. Thank you for helping to make Wright State a healthier place to be!

Have a question?