Visit our Coronavirus website for all COVID-19 information and resources.

Career and Academic Advising

Melissa D. Steinke (Also State of Ohio Student Employee of the Year)

Lake Campus Reading Center
Recognition Year: 

Nominated by her supervisor, Judy Brewer, a faculty member in Education and Human Services at the Lake Campus.

Exemplifying reliability, quality of work, initiative, professionalism, and uniqueness of contribution.

Melissa Steinke, student employee in the Reading Center at the Lake Campus, was selected as Wright State University's Student Employee of the Year. In addition, Melissa competed at the state level and was selected as the winner for the state of Ohio!

Melissa was nominated by her supervisor, Judy Brewer, a faculty member in Education and Human Services at the Lake Campus. She was recognized at a reception at Lake Campus on Thursday, April 17, 2008, during National Student Employment Week. Her co-workers had the opportunity to congratulate Melissa at a private reception following the presentation hosted by Career Services.

Below is an excerpt from Melissa's nomination letter written by her supervisor, Judy Brewer:

"Melissa Steinke is a senior at Wright State University-Lake Campus, majoring in Middle Childhood Education with concentrations in Math and Science. After graduation this spring, she will complete her fifth year at the WSU-Dayton Campus, while also working toward obtaining her K-12 Reading Endorsement.

"As a student assistant in the Lake Campus Reading Center, Melissa works long hours and is responsible for a variety of important tasks. For three years, she has worked maximum hours for the Reading Center (days, nights, summers, and every Saturday morning during the academic year) while also completing her class requirements in exemplary fashion — her current GPA is 3.609. She is also a published author, and she is an active volunteer for the Shelby County Big Brothers, Big Sisters program.

"For the Lake Campus Reading Center, Melissa is responsible for monitoring student enrollment, which involves processing forms, confirming enrollment with parents and maintaining confidential files. She also arranges student assessments, which again involves parent interaction. In addition to students and parents, she corresponds with school administrators to arrange assessment sessions, and she often travels to the schools to act as an on-site supervisor for those assessments.

When I think of Melissa, I think of a hard worker with a determined spirit … I also think of her as a future ‘Teacher of Excellence.’ This is a young person who wants to make a positive difference."

A special thanks to this year's selection committee:

  • Marc DeWitt, Graduate Assistant, Enrollment Management;
  • Liane Muhlenkamp, Program Assistant, Teacher Education, Lake Campus;
  • Dr. Donna Schlagheck, Chair/Professor, Political Science.

Congratulations to all nominees!

Thank you to those supervisors who participated in this year's program and nominated their excellent student employees:

2008 Student Employee of the Year Nomination List
Student Name Supervisor Name Department
Kristine Alberico Jennifer McCamis Undergraduate Admissions
Devin Aumend Janet Kuester Community Health
Jacqulyne (Jacquie) Baker Natasha Alexander Pre-College Programs
Lindsey A. Carfrey Allan Boggs Human Resources
Sara T. Danford Victoria Oleen Theatre, Dance and Motion Picture
Melissa K. Doran Sarah Jackson Educational Leadership
Kelly Ellinger Donna Maas University College
Justin T. Fry Dr. Ronald Taylor Computer Science & Engineering
Daniel J. Furman Dr. Joseph A. Petrick Management
Benjamin Gepfrey JoAnn Ford Community Health- SARDI
Kourtnie Hagler Joyce Baver and Teresa Traylor SOM-Student Affairs/ Admissions
Brittany Hillock Dr. David Astles SOM- Dept of Surgery
Kristi Horvath Victoria Oleen Theatre, Dance and MP
Amanda Kessler James Lucot Pharmacology and Toxicology
Jason Klaus Dr. Donna Cole Professional Field Experience
Ebony Moreen Mary Jane Walling Professional Field Experience
Paige M. Piper Layne Crawford Modern Languages Dept.
Alysha D. Rabius Richard Rapp Community Health- CITAR
Brent Russell Amanda Brewer Undergraduate Admissions
Dawn Sanders Pam Wheeler Provost
Jessica Sanders Marie Clemons Student Union- Event Services
Kalie Stalder Cindy Laman Info Tech- Lake Campus
Brittany Sumler David Jones CUPA
Curtis Taylor Kimberly Morris Environmental Health & Safety
Jonathan D. Taylor Judy Brewer Education Dept- Lake Campus
Mallory Taylor Marie Clemons Student Union- Event Services
Shingirai Tichagwa William Palmer Environmental Health & Safety
Annika L. Vorhes Martin Kich English Dept- Lake Campus
Vanessa Walton Tracy Kingsley UCIE
Kia Webb Steve Lyons and Kim Brumbaugh UCIE
Lauren Weeks Dr. Marlene Bireley Retirees Association
Latika C. West Edward Depp Affirmative Action
Madeline Wood Peggy Thomas and Joe Berthiaume Residence Services