Racial Equity Task Force

On this page:

About the Racial Equity Task Force

Welcome to the Wright State Racial Equity Task Force. The Task Force was created to establish an actionable path towards a more equitable, anti-racist campus. The university is aware of the many intersecting forms of identity, diversity, and inclusivity that make up our Wright State community, and the need to think broadly about all of the issues which impact and frame the experiences of our students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Guided by our equitable principles, we are working to create impactful changes that strengthen, enhance, and empower the culture on campus so that it meets the needs of the entire campus community. This website will be updated with information about the progress of the Task Force's work, as well as helpful resources, tips, and stories from the Raider community as we move through the upcoming semesters.

Current Action Items

  • To hear, to acknowledge, and to grow together in our understanding of the ways in which racial events and persisting racial inequities impact students, staff, and faculty at Wright State
  • To develop and implement specific actions that students, staff, faculty, alumni, administrators, and the Board of Trustees can take to support the students, faculty, and staff of color at Wright State, demonstrating that this work is a priority for the whole university community
  • To provide recommendations to central administration, the Board of Trustees, and the Presidents’ Council on Inclusive Excellence in order to transform the current Wright State climate and culture and to ensure accountability for installing structural anti-racist policies and procedures
  • To confront racism and emphasize that racist and bigoted behavior will not be tolerated

Task Force Members

Wright State Faculty, Staff, and Students

  • Christa Agiro, Ph.D.
    (Professor, Departments of Teacher Education and English Language and Literatures)
  • Chinenye Amagwu
    (Premedical Post-Baccalaureate Wright State University, 2021)
  • Jennifer Attenweiler
    (Associate Director, Residence Life & Housing)
  • Jessica Penwell Barnett, Ph.D.
    (Associate Professor of Sexuality & Gender Studies Department of Sociology & Anthropology)
  • Matt Benjamin
    (Professor of Lighting Design Department of Theatre, Dance, and Motion Pictures)
  • Shreya Bhandari, Ph.D., MSW, LSW
    (Professor of Social Work)
  • Brian Boyd
    (Associate Professor, Mathematics Education Faculty Senate Vice President)
  • Paula Sacco Bubulya, Ph.D.
    (Professor, Associate Chair of Biological Sciences)
  • Dorian Buford
    (President, Black Student Union)
  • Kathy Engisch, Ph.D.
    (Interim Dean, College of Science and Mathematics)
  • Marty Gooden, Ph.D.
    (Department of Psychology)
  • Isabelle Hardesty
    (Vice President of Asian Student Association President of Advocates for Cultural Diversity and Excellence (ACE)
  • Tracey Hill
    (Administrative Support Coordinator, Department of Communication)
  • Mia Honaker
    (Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Inclusive Excellence)
  • Cynthia W. Jones
    (President, African American Alumni Society)
  • Kevin L. Jones Jr.
    (Director of Inclusive Excellence of the Student Body Founder & Vice-Chair of Retain the 9 and Task Force)
  • Sharon Lynette Jones, Ph.D.
    (Professor Department of English Language and Literatures)

  • Carol Mejia LaPerle, Ph.D.
    (Professor, Department of English Language and Literatures)
  • Tonya Mathis, M.Ed.
    (SoM Diversity Program Manager HERC Regional Director)
  • Sarah McGinley
    (Senior Lecturer, Department of English Language and Literatures)
  • Tiphani Moss, Psy.M.
    (4th Year Clinical Psychology Doctoral Student School of Professional Psychology)
  • Jeremiah A. Schumm, Ph.D., ABPP
    (Professor, School of Professional Psychology)
  • Marie Thompson, Ph.D.
    (Associate Professor, Department of Communication)
  • Sarah E. Twill, Ph.D., M.S.W.
    (Professor of Social Work)
  • Neisha Wiley, MSW, LSW, Ed.D.
    (Instructor of Social Work)
  • Darnell K. Adrian Williams
    (President of the Student Body Former Executive Director of the Ohio Student Government Association)
  • Julie L. Williams, Psy.D., ABPP
    (Professor School of Professional Psychology)
  • Emily J. Yantis-Houser, M.Ed
    (Associate Director of LGBTQA Affairs Adjunct Faculty – Women, Gender, & Sexuality (WGS) Studies)

Wright State Alumni

  • Rikki Bell
    (English Teacher, Lakota West High School)
  • Tabitha Brady
    (High School Teacher, Piqua City Schools)
  • Marisa Casillas
    (Training and Partnership Development Manager, MENTOR Nebraska)
  • Katina Childers
    (Academic Technology Coordinator, Sidney City Schools)
  • James Hoffer
    (Garden Manager, The Foodbank, Inc., Dayton)
  • Victoria Holman
    (High School Teacher, Horizon Science Academy, Dayton)
  • Rachel Horowitz
    (High School Teachers, Dayton Public Schools)
  • Jane Hwang
  • Simone Angélique Jeffrey
    (High School Teacher, Horizon Science Academy, Dayton)
  • Cynthia W. Jones
    (President, African American Alumni Society)
  • Brittany Katalenas
    (Founder/CEO, B-Konnected: The Housing Konnection)
  • Katie McGrath
    (Academic Advisor, Ohio University Patton College of Education)
  • Christina Puntasecca,
    (Doctoral Student, Distinguished University Fellow, Michigan State University)
  • Catherine Queener
    (Vice President of WSU Friends of the Libraries, Lifetime Member, WSU Alumni Association)
  • AJ Ricker
    (High School Teacher, Huber Heights)
  • Marisa Rivas
  • Kineta Sanford
    (Outreach Manager at Yellow Springs Home, Inc.)
  • Nataly Silva


Articles and Readings

Movies and TV

Movie/TV Title Director Platform
1 Angry Black Man Menelek Lumumba Tubi
13th (Netflix) Ava DuVernay Netflix
The Central Park Five Ken Burns Amazon Prime or PBS
Do The Right Thing Spike Lee Hulu
Fruitvale Station Ryan Coogler Amazon Prime
Get Out Jordan Peel Amazon Prime
If Beale Street Could Talk Barry Jenkins Hulu
Just Mercy Destin Daniel Cretton YouTube or Amazon Prime
Moonlight Barry Jenkins Netflix
Selma Ava DuVernay YouTube or Amazon Prime
The Hate U Give George Tillman Jr HBO Max, Amazon Prime, and Hulu
Blindspotting Carlos López Estrada Hulu
King In The Wilderness Peter Kunhardt Hulu or HBO Max
Hidden Figures Theodore Melfi Disney Plus


Social Media






View all Culture and Diversity events