President's Awards for Excellence
Award Categories and Criteria

Nomination Instructions

Submit Nomination Materials Online

Previous Recipients

President's Award for Excellence Home

WSU Home

Individual Award Categories and Criteria

Submission Deadline June 12, 2015

Human Relations
The nominee interacts effectively with members of the community to promote enthusiasm, harmony, gender equity, and diversity in the unit and/or campus as a whole. The nominee demonstrates an open, caring attitude, attentiveness to the needs and concerns of others, and a commitment to equitable treatment and promotion of diversity.

The nominee has provided leadership by chairing committees, mentoring others, serving as a role model, and/or using originality and creativity to enthusiastically and collaboratively develop strategies that enhance his/her unit. This leadership supports the university's academic mission, improves and/or modernizes current practice, encourages a harmonious and diverse climate, and/or positively affects other aspects of the unit's role in the university and/or the community.

The nominee demonstrates a continuing commitment to service and leadership to the university community. Active involvement on committees and other internal organizations, as well as other examples of volunteerism are examples of relevant service activities.

Outstanding Unit Award Criteria

Outstanding Unit will be awarded to a department, division, or program that has established and maintained an environment of service, academic excellence, gender equity, and commitment to diversity at Wright State University.

Outstanding Collaborative Units Award Criteria

Nomination must be based on a continuing collaboration by two or more departments, divisions, or programs within the university. Units will be identified as those whose collaborative efforts result in unique, exemplary service or academic excellence within the university and/or the community. These units demonstrate progress towards a goal or purpose that would not necessarily require teamwork. These goals should reflect improved competence in teaching, learning, or customer service and/or change the level of institutional cooperation.

Spirit of Innovation Award Criteria

Award will be presented to an individual, group, or unit which demonstrates courage, character, philosophy, and accomplishments, and mirrors the innovative spirit that created Wright State University and continues to fuel its impact.

The Following Individuals Are Not Eligible For Awards In 2015:

2015 Awards Advisory Committee Members:
Audwin Jones - Co-Chair, Elizabeth Styers - Co-Chair, Kary Brigger, Dawn Banker, Claudia Espinoza, Kurt Holden, Sandy Musick, Alysoun Taylor-Hall, Sharon Wik, Valita Wilhoite

Executive Officers of Wright State University:
Dan Abrahamowicz, Mary Ellen Ashley, Kimberly Barrett, Steve Berberich, Shari Mickey-Boggs, Rebecca Cole, Stephen Foster, Robert Fyffe, David Hopkins, Robert Hickey, Gwen Mattison, S. Naranayan, Tony Ortiz, Mark Polatajko, Hazel Rountree, Sheila Shellabarger, Thomas Sudkamp, Robert Sweeney, Craig Woolley

Also not eligible:
Faculty, ROTC Military Appointments, Contract Personnel not on Wright State's payroll.

Previous Recipients:
Recent recipients (2006–present) of the President's Award for Excellence are not eligible. Click here for a list of previous recipients.

3640 Colonel Glenn Highway - Dayton, Ohio - 45435
Copyright Information © 2015 | Accessibility Information
Last updated: Tue. Jun-09-15, 15:40
Please send comments to:
Wright State University