Student Government Association (SGA)


photo of a sga members at do the u in the student union

On this page:

What is SGA?

The Student Government Association exists to advocate widely and deeply felt Wright State student interests; this is accomplished through lobbying the administration at our university. As designated by the Board of Trustees, the House of Representatives is responsible for officially communicating the collective viewpoint of the student body with regard to any aspect of university policy or operation. The Senate is responsible for appointing students to university committees, to recommend allocations of the student activity funds, to represent student interests, and to serve as a conduit of information from the university to the student body. Student Government shall also represent the student body on state and national issues of interest to students.

Constitution and Bylaws

SGA Constitution (PDF)

These are the Bylaws (PDF) of Wright State University’s Student Government and are specific rules of the policy and conduct for all participants in the organization followed accordingly with the Constitution. No member shall waive or modify the Bylaws, or other documents, without due and proper consultation with the approval of appropriate administrators and advisors within the Student Government Association.


The purpose of SGA is to advocate for and represent the interests of students at Wright State University. We are committed to promoting student participation in the overall policy and decision-making processes of the University, enhancing the quality and scope of education at the University, and promoting the general welfare of the student body.

Mission Statement

We work to serve the interests of our fellow students and contribute to the betterment of our university. To that end we: Actively seek and resolve student concerns; Serve as liaisons to the student body and the university administration; Provide relevant and useful information to the student body at large; Recruit and develop student leaders within a professional culture; Create and engage in endeavors that impact the greater community; Protect and perpetuate the quality of our degrees; and cultivate individualized college experiences for our students.

Organizational Structure

Executive Board

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Chief of Staff
  • Director of Internal Affairs
  • Director of External Affairs
  • Policy Administrator
  • Speaker of the House


  • College of Liberal Arts
  • Raj Soin College of Business
  • College of Science and Math
  • College of Health Education and Human Services
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Residential Senator
  • Commuter Senator


  • Director of Academic Affairs
  • Director of Inclusive Excellence and Accessibility
  • Director of SGA Internship Program
  • Director of Student Affairs

Current members


University Wide Committees

  • Commencement
  • Honors
  • Undergraduate Academic Policies Committee
  • Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
  • Wright State Core Oversight Committee
  • Undergraduate Student Petitions Committee
  • Undergraduate Student Success Committee
  • Building and Grounds Committee
  • Woods Committee
  • International Education Advisory Committee
  • Information Technology Committee

SGA Committees (SGA members only)

  • Constitution
  • Scholarship
  • Student Affairs
  • Inclusive Excellence
  • Accessibility Health and Safety
  • Academic Affairs
  • External Affairs
  • Collaboration
  • Legislative and Governance Committee

Committee descriptions