Women in STEMM

Women in Science Giving Circle Faculty Research Awards

On this page:

General Requirements

  • Requests for funding must be need-based, and applications must convincingly demonstrate how the research project/scholarship meets the stated goals of the WISGC.
  • Applicants must clearly articulate how their work fits within the scope of a Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM)-related discipline.  Ideally, candidates for WISGC awards will be engaged in scholarship that naturally has a fundamental dependence upon scientific research for success in one’s discipline.
  • Application materials must document how a WISGC award will make a difference that impacts career advancement for the applicant, increases the impact of the applicant’s research, and/or accelerates research productivity toward achieving publications, grant funding, promotion, or advancement into an administrative position.


Applicant eligibility will be limited to women, and will include any faculty who are in or beyond their third year at Wright State.


Completed applications will be due April 5, 2019 by 5 p.m.  

Contact Information

Kathrin Engisch, Ph.D.
(937) 775-2662


On April 18, 2018 the WISGC hosted a reception to announce the 2018 faculty research grant award recipient. We are very proud to add this exemplary woman to our distinguished list of grant recipients. Congratulations to our grant recipient, Silvia Newell, Ph.D.

Previous Grant Recipients

Year Recipient Department Research Area
2018 Silvia Newell Earth & Environmental Science Biogeochemical cycling of nitrogen in low-oxygen marine environments


Mary Fendley Biomedical, Industrial and Human Factors Engineering Engineering, Humans in Complex Systems
2017 Debra Mayes Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Physiology Mechanisms controling neurodegeneration and cancer
2017 Cristina Redki Population and Public Health Sciences Areas of global health, global mental health and resilience factors
2016 Courtney Sulentic Pharmacology and Toxicology

Toxicology, immunological and nanoparticles

2016 Rebecca Teed Earth and Environmental Sciences Paleoecology
2015 Naila Khalil Center for Global Health Environmental Epidemiology


Smita Krishnamurthy BSOM Pathology/Dermatology 
2015 Gengxin Li Mathematics and Statistics Biostatistics
2012  Adrian Corbett NCBP Physiology and Biophysics
2012  Heather Hostetler BMB Nuclear Receptor Regulation
2011  Dragana Claflin Psychology Neuropsychology
2011  Audrey McGowin Chemistry Analytical/Environmental Chemistry
2010  Kate Excoffon Biology Molecular and Cell Biology
2010  Barbara Kraszpulska NCBP Biomedical Education
2009  Lynn Hartzler Biology Respiratory Control/Comparative Physiology
2009  Ioana Pavel Chemistry Bio-Nanotechnology and Nanotoxicology
2008  Paula Bubulya Biology Molecular and Cell Biology
2008  Julie Skipper Biomedical Industrial and Human Factors Engineering