

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

APPROVAL OF RETENTION INCENTIVE TO PRESIDENT SUE EDWARDS

RESOLUTION 24-XX

WHEREAS, President Susan L. Edwards, Ph.D., has been employed as Wright State University's eighth President since January 1, 2020, which is memorialized in her employment agreement; and

WHEREAS, during President Edwards' tenure, the University has experienced unprecedented success despite the very challenging environment within the higher education industry; and

WHEREAS, The Board of Trustees has recognized the University's success is largely due in part of President Edwards' steadfast leadership, unparalleled effort, and skill, previously prompting the Board of Trustees to extend her employment agreement through June 30, 2028; and

WHEREAS, continuity of executive leadership is paramount in order to ensure the long-term success of the University; and

WHEREAS, the University desires to retain President Edwards through the close of the decade by awarding a retention incentive package; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Wright State University Board of Trustees extends President Edwards' administrative appointment as President of Wright State University through June 30, 2029; and be it further

RESOLVED, the Chair of the Board of Trustees is authorized and directed to execute, on behalf of the Board, an extension of the President's employment agreement, through the same date; and be it further

RESOLVED, the Chair of the Board of Trustees is authorized and directed to amend the Employment Agreement for Susan L. Edwards, Ph.D., effective July 1, 2024 to effectuate the following:

FIRST: Stipulate that President Edwards, at the beginning of each fiscal year, will meet with the Board of Trustees to establish a series of formal goals for the University in which her performance will be measured and evaluated;

SECOND: Eliminate the eligibility to receive an annual performance bonus;

THIRD: Provide President Edwards a retention incentive in which she is entitled to an annual payment equal to 25% of her base compensation as an inducement to continue her employment as President of Wright State University through June 30, 2029; and

FOURTH: The retention incentive payment shall be made in the manner and form as determined by President Edwards.