In-State WSU Graduate Tuition for OH Bachelor's Graduates

RESOLUTION 21 -

WHEREAS, the Governor of the State of Ohio and the Chancellor of Higher Education have asked colleges and universities to adopt policies to provide in-state tuition rates to graduate students who received their bachelor's degrees in Ohio; and

WHEREAS, a reduction in the current nonresident surcharge will help to attract and retain graduate students in the State of Ohio and contribute to the State's economic future; and

WHEREAS, §381.170 of Am. Sub. House Bill 166 of the 133rd General Assembly requires any waiver of tuition for a student, or class of students, not otherwise permitted by law at a state-assisted institution of higher education be approved by the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education; and

WHEREAS, Wright State University has determined that all of its graduate programs, excluding the professional degrees of the M.D and Psy.D., are suited to satisfy the Governor's and Chancellor's request; and

WHEREAS, the University desires to request a fee reduction of 99% of the non-Ohioresident surcharge for graduate students who completed their bachelor's degrees in Ohio and are enrolled in the eligible graduate programs, a group that has included an average of 30 students per semester over the past three years; and

WHEREAS, the University in 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 charges a \$465 per-credit-hour surcharge for non-Ohio-resident students in graduate programs, meaning a 99% reduction would result in an adjusted per-credit-hour surcharge of \$4.65; and

WHEREAS, Wright State University is requesting the non-Ohio-resident surcharge reduction for graduate students who completed their bachelor's degrees in Ohio be approved beginning in the Fall 2021 semester,

WHEREAS, this request is for a renewal of this tuition reduction which was approved by the Wright State University Board of Trustees on June 19, 2020, and the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education on August 10, 2020, Directive 2020-043; and

WHEREAS, the current approved tuition waiver expires on June 30, 2021;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that, beginning Fall 2021, the Board of Trustees of Wright State University authorizes the administration to offer a 99% reduction of the non-Ohio-resident surcharge (currently from \$465 per credit hour to \$4.65 per credit hour) to non-Ohio-resident students who completed their bachelor's degrees in Ohio and are enrolled in the eligible graduate programs; and

FURTHER RESOLVED that the administration of Wright State University will submit a request to the Chancellor of the Ohio Department of Higher Education to review and approve the tuition reduction renewal, as required by law.