Wright State Faculty Senate MINUTES January 15, 2021

Business, Raj Soin College of

- ✓ John Martin (2021.v) (EC)
- ✓ Rachel Sturm (2022)
- ✓ Scott Williams (2022)

Education & Human Services, College of

- ✓ Hannah Chai (2021)
- ✓ Huma Bashir (2022) (EC)

Engineering & Computer Science, College of

- ✓ Fred Garber (2021) (EC)
- ✓ Subhashini Ganapathy (2022)
- ✓ Mateen Rizki (2022)

Lake Campus

- ✓ Megan Faragher (2021) (EC)
- ✓ Steven Pedler (2022)

Liberal Arts, College of

- ✓ Liam Anderson (2021)
- ✓ Susan Carrafiello (2021) (EC)
- ✓ Ameila Hubbard (2021)
- ✓ Noeleen McIlvenna (2021)
- ✓ Sarah McGinley (2022)
- ✓ Hope Jennings (2022)

Medicine, Boonshoft School of

- ✓ Marietta Orlowski (2021)(EC)
- Eric Bennett (2021)
- ✓ Irina Overman (2021)
- ✓ Terry Oroszi (2022)

Nursing & Health, College of

- ✓ Jennifer Barbee-Crim (2021.v)
- ✓ Misty Richmond (2021) (EC)

Professional Psychology, School of

✓ Jeffrey Cigrang (2021) (EC)

Science & Mathematics, College of

- ✓ Adrian Corbett (2021)
- ✓ Rebecca Teed (2021)
- ✓ Ivan Medvedev (2022)
- ✓ Eric Rowley (2022)
- / Dawn Wooley (2022) (EC)

Faculty President

Laura Luehrmann (2021)

Faculty Vice President

✓ Brian Boyd (2021) (EC)

Faculty Senate Parliamentarian

✓ Mike Raymer

University President

✓ Sue Edwards

University Provost

✓ Douglas Leaman

I. Call to Order

Faculty President Luehrmann called the meeting to order slightly after 2:30pm. Dr. Luehrmann announced that Parliamentarian Thomas Rooney has stepped down from his role on the Senate and will be leaving the University to pursue a position with the State of Ohio. Dr. Mike Raymer has been appointed to serve as Parliamentarian for the remainder of the term.

Parliamentarian Raymer called the role.

Dr. Luehrmann reviewed the general meeting procedures and asked Senators to use the webex chat to indicate a motion or question. For this special meeting, Senators will have 90 seconds state their question and 30 seconds to state a follow-up question.

Dr. Luehrmann announced that this meeting was called, as required by the Faculty Constitution, upon the receipt of 50 or more petitions. The following petition was signed by 89 faculty members at the time it was reviewed by the Executive Committee.

Petition:

I ask that a special meeting of the Faculty Senate be called to discuss the reasons given for retrenchment. This meeting should be held early in January and should include the president and/or provost of the university.

Draft minutes.

I. Approval of Minutes

http://www.wright.edu/sites/www.wright.edu/files/uploads/2020/Dec/meeting/Senate Minutes 2020-12-07.pdf

Dr. Luehrmann requested unanimous consent to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. The minutes were approved with no dissent.

II. Motion to suspend the rules

Senator Richmond moved to suspend the rules in order to only receive reports and conduct business pertaining to the subject of the petition. The motion received several seconds. Senator Ganapathy expressed a need to approve Old Business items. After discussions pertaining to the scope of Senator Richmond's motion, a vote was conducted and Parliamentarian Raymer indicated that enough votes were received to suspend the rules. (18-9)

From this point the original agenda was suspended to hear a report from President Edwards and participate in a subsequent Q&A period.

III. Report of President Edwards

https://www.wright.edu/sites/www.wright.edu/files/uploads/2021/Jan/meeting/FacultySen ate PresidentSlides 2020-01-15.pdf

IV. Adjourn

President Edwards had to leave the meeting shortly after 4:00pm. Parliamentarian Raymer announced that the prior motion to suspend the agenda didn't actually receive the 2/3rds majority required. Senator Richmond made a motion to suspend the rules to consider a motion for adjournment. After voting via chat, Parliamentarian Raymer announced that the rules had been successfully suspended. Dr. Luehrmann adjourned the meeting after asking if there was opposition and receiving no reply.