#### WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY

# **Graduate Council Report to the Faculty Senate**

April 2016

The Wright State University Graduate Council met on April 21, 2016. Several of its standing committees met prior to that date.

## I. REPORT OF THE ASSOCIATE DEAN

Last week's Research Celebration had good participation by both undergraduate and graduate students. Poster presentations, a data-blitz, and an industry panel that included some of WSU's alumni were all part of the day's events. The Graduate Student Excellence Awards Program also took place last week. Fifty-six students were recognized. Thanks to all the program faculty and advisors who supported both of these events.

Reminder, Graduate Council election information has been distributed to all of the colleges and schools. Results should be sent to the Graduate School before the end of spring semester.

Appreciation and thanks were extended to the faculty representatives whose Graduate Council terms are ending: Kevin Duffy, Greg Kozlowski, Miryoung Lee, Mindy McNutt, Barry Milligan, Mike Raymer, and Brenda Young.

The 2016-2017 Graduate Council meeting dates were distributed to the returning members:

Sept. 22, 2016, 2 p.m., E163 SU	Feb. 9, 2017, 2 p.m., E156 SU
Oct. 20, 2016, 2 p.m., E163 SU	March 16, 2017, 2 p.m., E156 SU
Nov. 17, 2016, 2 p.m., E156 SU	April 13, 2017, 2 p.m., E156 SU

A summary of some of the "Graduate Education Highlights" for the academic year was provided:

- Launch of a new PhD program in Interdisciplinary Applied Science & Math and approval of the new PhD program in Electrical Engineering.
- Approval of several new certificates for the College Credit Plus program (Teaching Earth & Environmental Sciences, Teaching College History, and Diversity & Social Inequality) as well as certificates in Gender, Race, & Economy; Global Health; and Public Health Leadership.
- Two Grad Program Directors and Department Chairs Workshop & Lunches were held and new small workshops were offered to graduate program advisors and staff on the following topics: Managing Graduate Students, Tips for Offering Program Orientations, and Working with the Grad School.
- New initiative: Orientation sessions were offered for new graduate students at the start of every semester: Fall 2015, Spring 2016, & Summer 2016

The new Customer Relationship Management (CRM), Salesforce Enrollment RX, was launched last week with two available functions: the application portal and the application review process, ReaderRX. Training sessions will be offered. Any problems and/or questions should be directed to Jason Champagne (graduate), Jen McCamis (undergraduate), and Jayne Monat (CaTS).

## **II. COMMITTEE REPORTS**

## STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

The 2016-2017 Graduate Council Scholar and Wright Fellow scholarships have been awarded.

## **Graduate Council Scholars**

Richard Boateng Antwi - M.A. International & Comparative Politics - CoLA

Jason Farkas – Ed.D. Organizational Studies – CEHS

Isaac Hampton – Ph.D. Engineering – CECS

Abraham Haskins - Ph.D. Human Factors & Industrial/Organizational Psychology - CoSM

Maliha Luqman – Ph.D. Interdisciplinary Applied Science and Mathematics – CoSM

Cogan Shimizu - M.S. Computer Science - CECS

Hannah Shows - Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences - CoSM

Shannon Tritt-Schoen – M.S. Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner – CoNH

### **Wright Fellows**

De'Andre Dearinge – M.Ed. Student Affairs in Higher Education – CEHS

Sativa Marie Johnson - M.S. Biological Sciences - CoSM

Kourtney Pickens – M.S. Nursing: Neonatal Nurse Practitioner – CoNH

Lindsay Smith - M.Ed. Adolescent/Young Adult: Integrated Language Arts - CEHS

# **MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE**

The Membership Committee reported on the graduate faculty members approved.

## **POLICIES COMMITTEE**

For information only: The Policies Committee reviewed a document prepared by the Undergraduate Academic Policies Committee regarding terminology for the modes of distance learning.

## **CURRICULUM COMMITTEE A**

The Curriculum Committee A recommended, and the Graduate Council approved, the following new courses, course modifications, and program of study modification:

**New Course Requests:** BME 6350, BME 7371, CEG 6440, CEG 6900, CS 5160, EE 7510, EE 7510L, EE 7910, EE 7920, IHE 6350, IHE 7371, PSY 9025, PTX 6001, PTX 6002, PTX 6003

Course Modifications: BME 6422 to BME 7521, BME 7950, CEG 6260, CS 6100, EE 6000, EE 6120, EE 6120L, EE 6130, EE 6130L, EE 6170, EE 6170L, EE 6190, EE 6190L, EE 6210, EE 6210L, EE 6360, EE 6420, EE 6420L, EE 6440, EE 6440L, EE 6460, EE 6460L, EE 6470, EE 6470L, EE 6540, EE 6540L, EE 6560, EE 6560L, EE 6600L, EE 6620L, EE 6700, EE 6700L, EE 6730, EE 6730L, EE 6750, EE 6800L, EE 6800L, EE 6840, EE 7900, NUR 6903, NUR 7001, NUR 7002, NUR 7003, NUR 7005, NUR 7731, NUR 7733, NUR 7734, NUR 7735, NUR 8005, PSY 7040, PSY 9035, and PTX 8001

**Program of Study Modification:** M.S. Physics (adding non-thesis option)

## **CURRICULUM COMMITTEE B**

The Curriculum Committee B recommended, and the Graduate Council approved, the following new courses, course modifications, program of study modification, and program of study for a new concentration:

New Course Requests: ED 6475, ED 6575, MKT 7100, MKT 7150, and SPN 5430

**Course Modifications:** ED 6640, ED 6740, PLS 6700, and SPN 5210

**Program of Study Modification:** M.Ed. Ed Technology: Health Professions Applications

## **Program of Study - New Concentration:**

- 1. M.Ed. Multi-Age: Computer Information Science
- 2. Licensure Multi-Age: Computer Information Science

# **III. GRADUATE STUDENT ASSEMBLY (GSA)**

The second round Original Work and Professional Development grants have been decided and will be awarded to the students next week.

The GSA held elections for next year's leadership team. The new president is Preston Eberlyn. Preston is a student in both the M.A. International & Comparative Politics and Master of Public Administration programs.

-----

#### **Graduate Council Attendance 04/21/2016:**

Voting Members:

BSoM: Andrew Froehle, Miryoung Lee

CEHS: Mindy McNutt CECS: Michael Raymer

CoLA: Liam Anderson, Laura Luehrmann, Barry Milligan

CoNH: Marie Bashaw

CoSM: Scott Baird, Greg Kozlowski, Scott Watamaniuk RSCoB: Kevin Duffy, Anand Jeyaraj, Zdravka Todorova

SoPP: Gokce Durmusoglu, Janeece Warfield

*Non-Voting Ex-Officio Members:* 

Bill Ayres (chair), K.T. Arasu, Nathan Balasubramanian, Don Cipollini, Herb Dregalla, Preston Eberlyn, Erika Gilles (scribe), Mark Mamrack and Sheila Shellabarger