For more information about registered sex offenders near the campus you attend visit the Ohio Attorney General's Sexual Offender Search.
Beginning January 1, 2008 Ohio implemented a new classification system for offenders convicted on sexual-related offenses.
Upon sentencing, a judge decides based on a number of factors, will determine at which level the offender will immediately be classified. When the offender is released from confinement, moves to a new county of residence or begins a job or school, the offender must register with the sheriff within three days.
In addition to their residential, school and/or employment and personal identifying information, each sex offender who is legally required to register must provide the Sheriff's Office with:
- the license plate number of all vehicles to which they have access, including work vehicles, and where said vehicles are habitually parked
- email addresses and internet identifiers, e.g. screen names, etc.
- registered phone numbers (home & cellular)
On June 3, 2010 the Supreme Court of Ohio voided as unconstitutional two sections of the Ohio Adam Walsh Act (AWA) that authorize the state attorney general to reclassify sex offenders who had already been classified by judges under a previous version of the law, "Megan's Law." The Court held that the challenged provisions violate the separation-of-powers doctrine of the Ohio Constitution.
This decision leaves in place all of the law enforcement registration and community notification requirements of the Adam Walsh Act applicable to sex offenders who were classified on or after the Jan. 1, 2008, effective date of that law, and reinstates the pre-AWA registration and community notification requirements that judges had ordered offenders to comply with pursuant to Megan's Law.
Therefore, sex offenders will now be classified as follows:
Classification of Offenders (After January 2008):
Tier III Offenders in this tier must register every ninety (90) days and must do do for life. Violators convicted of the following offenses of the Ohio Revised Code must register at this tier: Rape, Sexual Battery, Agg. Murder with sexual motivation, murder with sexual motivation, unlawful death with sexual motivation, kidnapping of a minor to engage in sexual activity, gross sexual imposition with a child under 12, kidnapping of a minor, felonious assault with sexual motivation, sexual offense committed by a Tier II or Tier III offender, attempt, complicity, or conspiracy of any of these offenses.
Tier II Offenders are required to register every six months and must do so for twenty-five (25) years. Tier 2 offenders are those convicted of any of the following: Compelling prostitution, pandering obscenity involving a minor pandering sexually oriented material involving a minor, illegal use of a minor in nudity oriented material or performance, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor offender 4 years older than the victim, gross sexual imposition - victim under 13, child endangering, kidnapping with sexual motivation, kidnapping victim over 18, abduction with sexual motivation, sexual offense committed by Tier I offender, attempt, complicity, or conspiracy of any of these offenses.
Tier I Offenders must register every year and must do so for fifteen years. Offenders convicted of these offenses are categorized as Tier 1: Importuning, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor - offender less than 4 years older than the victim, voyeurism, sexual imposition, gross sexual imposition, child enticement with sexual motivation, pandering obscenity, menacing by stalking with sexual motivation, unlawful restraint with sexual motivation, child victim - offender not in Tier II or III, attempt, complicity, or conspiracy of any of these offenses.
By law all offenders must register and verify their address in person with the sheriff’s office in the county in which they reside. Sexual Predators must register and verify their address in person with the sheriff’s office every 90 days for life. All other offenders must register and verify their address in person with the sheriff’s office annually. All offenders must report in person, any address change prior to making any residence change.
Classification of Offenders (Prior to January of 2008):
Sexual Predator is defined as a person who has been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, committing a sexually oriented offense and who is likely in the future to commit additional sexually oriented offenses.
Offenders can be classified as sexual predators in one of the following ways:
- The offender is convicted of a sexually violent offense with a sexually violent predator specification, or
- The sentencing court, after holding a sexual predator hearing pursuant to O.R.C. 2950.09, determines that the offender is a sexual predator.
Offenders designated as sexual predators are subject to registration/verification requirements annually for life unless a judge modifies or terminates the sexual predator designation. Sexual predators are subject to the neighbor/community notification provisions and the reporting requirements at 90-day intervals.
Habitual Sex Offender is defined as a person who has been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, committing a sexually oriented offense, and who previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to one or more sexually oriented offenses.
Offenders designated as habitual sex offenders are subject to registration/verification requirements annually for a period of 20 years after release. A sentencing judge may determine that a habitual sex offender is subject to neighbor/community notification.
Sexually Oriented Offender is a person who has been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, committing a sexually oriented offense, but who has not been designated as a sexual predator or habitual sex offender.
Sexually oriented offenders are subject to the resignation / verification requirements annually for a period of 10 years after release. These offenders are not subject to neighbor/community notification.
Child Victim Offender is a person who has been convicted of, or pleaded guilty to, committing a child-victim oriented offense. ( Abduction 2905.02, Child Stealing (former) 2905.04, Criminal Child Enticement 2905.05, Kidnapping 2905.01 (A)(1)(2)(3)(5), Unlawful Restraint 2905.03)
Child victim offenders are subject to the resignation / verification requirements annually for a period of 10 years after release. These offenders are not subject to neighbor/community notification.
Information on this site or any site reached from this site should not be used to unlawfully injure, harass, or commit a crime against any individual named in the registry or residing or working at any reported address. Any of the above actions could result in civil or criminal penalties.
For information on currently registered sex offenders residing near Dayton Campus, please visit any of the links below:
For information on currently registered sex offenders residing near Lake Campus, please visit any of the links below: