Accreditation & Assessment

Institutional Accreditation

Verify Accreditation

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500, Chicago, Illinois 60604-1411
Phone: 800.621.7440 / 312.263.0456 | Fax: 312.263.7462 |


“Accreditation” is a review of the quality of higher education institutions and programs. In the United States, accreditation is a major way that students, families, government officials, and the general public know that an institution or program provides quality education.

Wright State University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC's mission statement is, "Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning." HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in Ohio and 18 other states.

Wright State University’s initial accreditation was granted in 1968. In order to maintain accreditation, the university’s programs and processes are periodically reviewed by the HLC to ensure institutional quality and integrity. Wright State University received Reaffirmation of Accreditation in 2016 and completed its Mid-Cycle Assurance Review in August 2020.  

Continual HLC Accreditation is a key indicator of Wright State’s quality.

Older Documents