Teacher of the Year Award

Each spring, the University Honors Program recognizes an Honors Teacher of the Year. Honors student nominations, faculty members’ Honors course evaluations, letters of nomination, and a variety of other resources influence the selection. The recipient is recognized at the spring semester Honors graduation ceremony with a plaque and cash award.


Dr. Maan Jiang Broadstock is an instructor of Chinese in the Department of Modern Languages. She was born in Taiwan and moved to the United States in 1997. She received her Ph.D. in Educational Studies from The Ohio State University. After moving to the United States, she began teaching Chinese at the Dayton Chinese School and fell in love with Chinese teaching. Later she established the Chinese program at Centerville High School in 2006. She was an adjunct faculty member at Wright State University from 2008 to 2013 and became a full-time faculty member in 2014.

Dr. Broadstock most recently taught an Honors section of ML 2020, Chinese Culture through Film. Students universally praised her as an engaging and challenging instructor. They also greatly appreciated her extensive efforts to create an inclusive community and engage them in cultural and enrichment opportunities outside of class. As one student noted, she “constantly pushed us to think critically about the unfamiliar Eastern values and compare them to our own philosophies in the West, elevating our appreciation for both points of view.”

Congratulations to Dr. Maan Jiang Broadstock, the 2017 Honors Teacher of the Year!




Maggie Houston
Senior Lecturer, Accountancy, Raj Soin College of Business


Heidi Wendt
Assistant Professor, Religion, Philosophy, and Classics


Jane Blakelock


photo of judson murray
Judson Murray


photo of Oldstone-Moore
Christopher Oldstone-Moore


photo of sarah twill
Sarah Twill
Social Work


photo of jonathan winkler
Jonathan Winkler


photo of carol nathanson
Carol Nathanson
Art History


photo of hunt brown
Hunt Brown
Earth & Environmental Sciences


photo of cathy sayer
Cathy Sayer


photo of brady allen
Brady Allen


photo of roberta pohlman
Roberta Pohlman
Biological Sciences

  • Liam Anderson, Political Science (2004)
  • William Irvine, Philosophy (2003)
  • Roy Vice, History (2002)
  • John Morrisette , Political Science (2001)
  • Charles Larkowski, Music (2000)
  • Robert Rubin, English (1999)
  • Jim Sayer, Communication (1998)
  • Robert Hetherington, Theatre (1997)
  • Susan Carrafiello, History (1996)
  • John Fortman, Chemistry (1995)
  • Paul Lockhart, History (1994)
  • Rebecca Daley, English (1993)
  • Robert O'Donnell, Psychology (1992)
  • Charles Berry, History (1991)
  • Jerry Hubschman, Biology (1990)
  • Donna Schlagheck, Political Science (1989)
  • James Hughes, English (1988)