Fall 2020 Update

Fall 2020 Update: Wright State University’s Dayton and Lake Campuses plan to return to teaching for 2020 Fall Semester on August 24 with a dynamic and flexible mixture of in-person and remote courses. Read more about our Right Here. Wright State. This Fall. plan.

Graduate School

Graduate Council Meeting

October 22, 2001


I. The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m.

Voting members and alternates present were: J. Belcher, G. Bernhardt, N. Bourbakis,
J. Brandeberry, C. Carney, D. Cole, J. Coleman, B. Farmer, J. Flach, S. Fraser,
J. Gomez-Cambronero, N. Gressis, M. Kazimierczuk, H. Klein, S. McConnell, T. McKee,
D. Miller, S. Nelson, D. Orenstein, E. Orr, J. Ovington, W. Pammer, L. Ream, J. Thomas

Non-voting alternates present were: H. Klein, G. Malicki, C. Ryan

Non-voting attendees were: J. Kimble, W. Sellers, P. Walker

II. It was moved and seconded that the minutes of the May 14, 2001 meeting be approved as written. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Election of Secretary and Liaison to the Faculty Senate

It was moved and seconded that David Orenstein be appointed secretary of the Graduate Council for 2001-2002. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved and seconded that Joseph Coleman and Donna Curry, who are members of both Graduate Council and the Faculty Senate, be appointed Liaisons to the Faculty Senate. Motion carried unanimously.

IV. Report of the Dean (J. Thomas)

There are three standing committees of the Graduate Council: Policies Committee, chaired by C. Ryan, Membership Committee, chaired by R. Grubbs, and Student Affairs Committee (no chair appointed as yet).

At the direction of the Provost, a Graduate Recruitment Committee was formed consisting of J. Thomas as chair, and a representative from each college, with the exception of the School of Professional Psychology and the School of Medicine. Recruitment plans are to be submitted to the Provost by each College and the Committee by November 15.

The fall 2001 enrollment report indicates an increase in headcount of 2.3 percent and an increase in graduate credit hours of 2.3 percent in comparison to fall 2000.

Graduate Student Support: Of the 1,276 fall 2001 full-time graduate students, 476 are graduate assistants, 10 are Graduate Council Scholars, and 149 receive tuition scholarships only. Of the 476 graduate assistantships, 300 are university-funded, 126 are grant funded, and 50 are split between grant and university funds. There is a three percent increase in the number of graduate assistants since fall, 2000. Graduate Council Scholars receive a $10,000 stipend and tuition remission. Currently there are four students in the second year of the program and six students in their first year of the program. There are 183 students receiving tuition scholarships (total, 34 are also receive a stipend as a graduate assistant); 125 are new to the program, and 58 are continuing recipients.

Ohio Board of Regents program approvals: The Engineering Ph.D. program was given final approval by RACGS on September 28; the program is on the OBR agenda for final approval at the November 15 meeting. A degree title change from Master of Urban Administration to Master of Public Administration was approved by RACGS on September 28. This is considered final approval for this action.

Program Reviews: A review of the Engineering Ph.D. program was completed in September, 2001 in preparation for OBR approval. Periodic reviews of Ph.D. programs are mandated by OBR through the Graduate Funding Commission. Accordingly, a review of the Human Factors/Industrial Organizational Psychology Ph.D. program is in progress. A review of the Computer Science and Engineering Ph.D. program is scheduled for 2001 - 2002; and the Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. program review is scheduled for 2002 - 2003.

J. Thomas's ten year administrative review is complete. A copy of the report is available in the Deans' offices, including the School of Graduate Studies, 202 University Hall.

The annual Thesis/Dissertation Workshop is scheduled for November 7.

V. Committee Reports

· Policies Committee (C. Ryan)

a. The Policies Committee approved three new concentrations in the M.Ed. Classroom Teacher Program: Middle Childhood, Adolescent Young Adult, and Multi-Age. These concentrations are linked to the new licensure laws.

· Membership Committee (J. Thomas for R. Grubbs)

The Committee brought forward five nominations for full graduate faculty membership and four nominations for adjunct full graduate faculty membership.

The five full member nominees are:

Ava Chamberlain Religion/CoLA
Lynn Crosby Orthopaedics/SoM
Patrick Dennis Biochem & Molecular Biology/SoM
Ling Rothrock Biomed/Industrial & HF Egr/EGR & CS
Bin Wang Computer Sci & Egr/EGR & CS

The adjunct full member nominees are:

Thomas Hartrum Comp Sci & Egr/EGR & CS
Richard Jensen Psych/S&M
Steven Leclair Mech & Materials Egr/EGR & CS
John Maguire Mech & Materials Egr/EGR & CS

It was moved and seconded that the nominees be approved. The motion passed unanimously.

· Student Affairs Committee (no report)

VI. Research Report (W. Sellers)

WSU has been awarded over $48 million dollars in grants and contracts in FY 2001.

The Research Challenge Early Start/Augmentation competition is in progress. Faculty must have submitted a proposal to an external agency for at least $30,000 for the first year to be eligible. This competition, which has been conducted twice a year, will next be scheduled in fall 2002. A new Research Challenge competition to promote collaborative grant activity will be announced later this year.

Jeffrey Kohler has joined the staff of Research and Sponsored Programs as Technology Manager.

The new Intellectual Property Policy is available on the RSP web-site.

VII. Doctoral Program Review: Ph.D. in Engineering Program (J. Brandeberry)

J. Brandeberry presented the history of the Engineering Ph.D. program. The mission of the program is to support Miami Valley economic development through a multidisciplinary, collaborative effort with AFIT, University of Dayton, University of Cincinnati, and Ohio State University. The program received five-year provisional approval by OBR in September 1996. Students were first admitted into the program in 1997, and there have been six graduates through summer 2001. The five-year review process, which was recently completed, involved two external reviewers, from U. Texas, Austin, and Georgia Tech. The program was presented to RACGS on September 28 by J. Brandeberry, J. Gallimore, and R. Grandhi, WSU, H. Ries, AFIT, and G. Kinzel, OSU and passed unanimously. Full approval of the program is on the November 2001 OBR agenda. The multi-institutional program collaborations have been beneficial to the program and promote awareness of program strengths among collaborating faculty.

VIII. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.