Fall 2020 Update

Fall 2020 Update: Wright State University’s Dayton and Lake Campuses plan to return to teaching for 2020 Fall Semester on August 24 with a dynamic and flexible mixture of in-person and remote courses. Read more about our Right Here. Wright State. This Fall. plan.

Graduate School

Graduate Council Meeting

October 16, 2000


I. The meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m.

Voting members and alternates present were: G. Bernhardt, J. Brandeberry, D. Curry, J. Dombrowski, S. Fraser, D. Goldstein, R. Grubbs, J. Jean, P. Martin, S. McConnell, J. Myers, S. Nelson, J. Ovington, W. Pammer, N. Rote, C. Ryan, E. Self, J. Thomas, 
L. VandeCreek, A. Wendt

Non-voting alternates present were: L. Ream

Non-voting attendees were: E. Friese, G. Malicki, V. Montavon, J. Walker

Dean J. Thomas introduced Faculty President James Walker. Dr. Walker commented on the importance of graduate education to Wright State University and the Dayton area. Dean Thomas also introduced John (Jay) Myers, the 2000-2001 Graduate Council Student Government representative.

II. It was moved and seconded that the minutes of the May 15, 2000 meeting be approved as written. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Election of Secretary and Liaison to the Faculty Senate

It was moved and seconded that David Orenstein be appointed secretary of the Graduate Council for 2000-2001. Motion carried unanimously.

It was moved and seconded that Robert Premus be appointed Liaison to the Faculty Senate. Motion carried unanimously.

IV. Report of the Dean (J. Thomas)

Dean Thomas presented a list of Graduate Council members and the three standing committees of Graduate Council, and the Chair of each (Policies Committee: C. Ryan; Membership Committee: E. Self; Student Affairs Committee: J. Fulton).

Graduate Enrollment Report: Figures for Fall, 2000 indicate a decrease in headcount of 2.4%; however, graduate credit hours increased 4.5 percent.

There are 192 students on Graduate Tuition Fellowships; of this number, 147 were awarded to new fellows and 45 were awarded to continuing fellows.

Dean Thomas updated the Council on OBR Graduate Funding Commission issues continuing from last year. The proposal discussed at the spring council meeting for a two-tier master’s structure with differing treatment of out-of-state students has been abandoned. Instead, new proposals being considered are deleting education and business candidates who are not declared doctoral candidates from the doctoral count and instituting a set of Best Practices for the awarding of tuition fellowships.

V. Committee Reports

• Policies Committee (C. Ryan)

a. The Policies Committee is reviewing two new degree concentration proposals: Career, Technical, and Adult Education concentration in the M.Ed. Classroom Teacher Program, College of Education and Human Services, and International and Comparative Politics concentration in the Applied Behavioral Sciences M.A. Program, College of Liberal Arts.

b. Three program development plans (Ph.D. Program in Environmental Sciences, Master of Science in Scientific and Technical Communications, and Master of Science in Teaching Program in Interdisciplinary Science and Mathematics) are being reviewed by RACGS.

c. The committee plans to consider a policy for the disposition of temporary grades for students who change programs or tracks and fail to complete a multi-term project such as a master’s thesis.

d. Procedures for archival storage and access to electronic theses and dissertations are continuing to develop. Three theses from Wright State University have been submitted to OhioLINK; two additional theses are pending submission.

• Membership Committee (E. Self)

The Committee brought forward two nominations for full graduate faculty membership and one nomination for adjunct full graduate faculty status.

The two full member nominees are:

Michael Cox Computer Science & Engineering/ E&CS

Palur Gunasekar Pharmacology and Toxicology/ SoM

The adjunct full member nominee is:

Stephen Schneider Physiology/ SoM

It was moved and seconded that the nominees be approved. Motion passed unanimously.

VI. Research Report (E. Friese)

For the fiscal year 1999-2000, research and other sponsored program awards exceeded $45M; this represents an increase of 31 percent over the previous year. Copies of the RSP Annual Report Research in Review 1999-2000 were distributed to the attendees.

The Research Challenge Early Start Augmentation call for proposals deadline is October 31; DAGSI preproposals are due October 18.

VII. New Business

a. J. Myers is establishing a forum for graduate students to relate their concerns regarding University issues. He requested that each Dean appoint a graduate student to participate on the forum.

b. A Thesis and Dissertation Workshop will be conducted on November 7, 2000 at 8:30 a.m., in room 163 Student Union.

VIII. Announcements

A second Graduate Council meeting for Fall quarter is scheduled for November 20, at 2:30 p.m., in room E156 Student Union.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Submitted by,

David Orenstein

Secretary, Graduate Council