Fall 2020 Update

Fall 2020 Update: Wright State University’s Dayton and Lake Campuses plan to return to teaching for 2020 Fall Semester on August 24 with a dynamic and flexible mixture of in-person and remote courses. Read more about our Right Here. Wright State. This Fall. plan.

Graduate School

Graduate Council Meeting

February 25, 2002


I. The meeting was called to order at 2:35 p.m.

Voting members and alternates present were: G. Alter, J. Belcher, N. Bourbakis,
J. Brandeberry, C. Carney, D. Cole, N. Gressis, R. Grubbs, C. Holdcraft, M. Kazimierczuk,
B. Mathies, S. McConnell, T. McKee, D. Miller, S. Narayanan, D. Orenstein,, W. Pammer,
L. Ream, C. Ryan, J. Thomas, R. Williams, L. Winfrey

Non-voting alternates present were: H. Klein

Non-voting attendees were: D. DeStephen, E. Reinsch Friese, J. Kimble, G. Malicki,
M. McLellan, P. Walker, S. Watamaniuk

II. It was moved and seconded that the minutes of the October 22, 2001 meeting be approved as written. Motion carried unanimously.

III. Report of the Dean (J. Thomas)

The Winter, 2002 enrollment report indicates an increase in graduate headcount of 9.1 percent and an increase in graduate credit hours of 7.1 percent.

Ohio Board of Regents program approvals: The Environmental Sciences Ph.D. program was approved by RACGS on February 22, 2002. A. Burton, R. Gilpin, R. Ritzi, and R. Weisman presented the program to RACGS and addressed concerns about the program. The program will be on the April 2002 OBR agenda for final approval.

The Master of Public Administration program will participate in an accreditation site visit from NASPAA on March 7 and 8, 2002.

A memo announcing the Graduate Council Scholars program will be distributed soon. Six scholars will be selected for the program this year. The Scholars receive a stipend (now $12,000) and tuition remission for up to two years. Program directors are encouraged to submit names of outstanding students to Dean Thomas.

The annual Student Excellence Awards Program is scheduled for Wednesday, May 22, 2002, at 5:00 PM. Information on the program is forthcoming.

Dean Thomas reviewed current changes being proposed for the Faculty Constitution including one to replace the Graduate Council by a committee of Faculty Senate.
Dean Thomas conveyed regrets from V. Nehring, Faculty President, who intended to be present to discuss the proposed Faculty Constitution changes but was unable to attend. D. DeStephen, Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee, will represent President Nehring.

IV. Committee Reports

· Policies Committee (C. Ryan)

The Policies Committee approved two new certificate programs in the History Department. These are (1) Museum Studies and (2) Archive Administration and Records Management. M. McLellan presented an overview of the programs. It was moved and seconded that the programs be approved. The motion passed unanimously. The programs will now be forwarded to the Faculty Senate for review and approval.

· Membership Committee (R.Grubbs)

The Committee brought forward five nominations for full graduate faculty membership and adjunct full graduate faculty membership.

The four full member nominees are:

Thomas Diamantes Ed Leader/ED & HS
John Emmert Elec Egr/Egr & CS
John Gallagher CS & Egr/EGR & CS
Marjorie McLellan History/CoLA

The adjunct full member nominee is:

Richard Backs Psych/CoS & M

It was moved and seconded that the nominees be approved. The motion passed unanimously.

· Student Affairs Committee (J. Thomas)

The Committee interviewed two students for the Regents Graduate/Professional Fellowship. A student in the Electrical Engineering program was the Committee's first choice; an MBA Marketing student was second choice. Both names will be forwarded to the Board of Regents in recommendation for the fellowship, which consists of $3500 per year for two years of graduate study in Ohio. The first student was subsequently awarded the fellowship by OBR.

V. Research Report (E. Reinsch Friese)

The dollar amount of grants and contracts awarded decreased in comparison to the same period last year by about 20%. This is, in part, due to a very large award in the earlier year that was not duplicated. The number of proposals funded has actually increased in comparison to the same period last year.

The deadline for Research Incentive proposals is March 4. There are two components to the grant program: Research Initiation, with an $8,000 limit, and Professional Development, with a $2,500 limit.

The Research Challenge Technology Commercialization Program will again be announced in the spring quarter.

A Technology Showcase, coordinated by J. Kohler, RSP, and coordinated with an ITRI Workshop, is scheduled for April 11.

VI. Faculty Constitution (D. DeStephen)

More than 60 changes to the Faculty Constitution are being proposed by the Senate Faculty Affairs Committee. D. DeStephen provided an overview of some of the proposed changes.

One proposal is that the Graduate Council be changed to a Committee and moved from the "Councils" section of document. The Senate Executive Committee would appoint the chair of the Graduate Committee; the Chair would report monthly to the Faculty Senate on the actions of the Graduate Committee. Discussion ensued. (The reported change has been subsequently modified by Faculty Affairs.)

Graduate Council members were urged to communicate with their Senators and attend the May 14 General Faculty meeting when Constitution changes are scheduled for a vote..

VII. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m.