Wright State University

HST 4830: History of Masculinity in Europe

Spring 2014

 

Christopher Oldstone-Moore

Millett 368

christopher.oldstone-moore@wright.edu

Office Hours: MWF 1-2:15 pm

 

Requirements                                                                           Paper Topics

                                                                                                                                             Guide to the Essay

Date

Session

Reading

Assignment

Mon. Jan 13

Gender and History

 

 

Wed. Jan 15

History and Masculinity

 

Dudink, Preface

Forth, Intro. to p. 6

Question Set Intro.

Fri. Jan 17

Body and Civilization

Braudy, chs. 1-4

Forth, pp. 6-15

 

Mon. Jan 20

NO CLASS

 

 

             Theme 1:

The Body Politic

 

 

Wed. Jan 22

18th C. Gentleman

Forth, ch. 2 to p. 55

Question Set 1

Fri. Jan 24

American and French Revolutions

Levˇe en Masse

Festival of the Supreme Being

 

Mon. Jan 27

Revolutionary Manliness

Braudy, ch. 29

Dudink, ch. 1 to p. 12

 

Wed. Jan 29

Napoleon and Romanticism

Dudink, ch. 3

 

Fri. Jan 31

Prussian Nation-state

Dudink, ch. 4

 

Mon. Feb 3

Building Bodies

Forth, ch. 5

 

Wed. Feb 5

British Citizenship

Dudink, ch. 7

Guide To Discussion

Papers

             Theme 2:

Moral Reform of Manliness

 

 

Fri. Feb 7

Victorian Fathers

Tosh: "Authority and Nurture"

Question Set 2

Mon. Feb 10

Tom Brown chs. 3-7

 

 

Wed. Feb 12

Tom Brown chs. 8-9; Pt II: chs. 1-4

 

 

Fri. Feb 14

Tom Brown Pt. II: chs. 5-9

 

 

Mon. Feb 17

Tom Brown: The Movie

 

 

Wed. Feb. 19

Muscular Christianity

Hughes: "Manliness of Christ"

 

Fri. Feb 21

The Beard Movement

Oldstone-Moore

 

Mon. Feb 24

Exam 1

 

 

             Theme 3:

Fears for the Modern Man

 

 

Wed. Feb 26

Fear of Degeneracy

Braudy, ch. 35

Forth, ch. 6 to p. 153

Question Set 3

Fri. Feb. 28

Primitivism

Forth, finish ch. 6

 

SPRING BREAK

 

 

 

Mon. Mar 10

Construction of Homosexuality

Braudy, chs. 34, 36

 

Wed. Mar 12

Manliness and Empire

Tosh, "New Imperialism"

 

Fri. Mar 14

Boy Scouts

Braudy, ch. 39

 

Mon. Mar 17

Boy Scouts

Boy Scout Manual

 

Wed. Mar 19

Sports

McDevitt, "Gender and Imperial Sport"

 

Fri. Mar 21

Boxing

McDevitt, "May the Best Man Win"

Paper Topics

Mon. Mar 24

No class-- Paper consultations

 

Bibliography due

             Theme 4:

Manliness and Technological War

 

 

Wed. Mar 26

Death of Heroism

Braudy, chs. 40-41

Question Set 4

Fri. Mar 28

Making sense of war

Braudy, chs. 42-43

 

Mon. Mar 31

Restoring manliness

Braudy, chs. 44

 

Wed. Apr 2

Men of steel

Forth, ch. 7 to p. 194

 

Fri. Apr 4

No class--writing

 

 

Mon. Apr 7

Fascism

Forth, finish ch. 7

Braudy, ch. 45

 

Wed. Apr 9

Post-war recovery

Braudy, chs. 52-53

 

Fri. Apr 11

No class--consultations

 

Thesis and outline

Mon. Apr 14

Post-war Germany

U. Poiger, "New Western Hero"

 

Wed. Apr 16

Consumer Manliness

Forth, ch. 8

 

Fri. Apr 18

Exam 2

 

 

Mon. Apr 21

No class--consultations

 

 

Wed. Apr 23

Paper presentations

 

Essay due

Fri. Apr 25

Paper presentations

 

 

May 2

Final Exam