Wright State University

                                                   History 4830 - Slavery and Abolition

                                                                 Spring 2018

 

Christopher Oldstone-Moore

Millett Hall 368

christopher.oldstone-moore@wright.edu

Office Hours: T/Th 12:30-2:00                   Requirements           Discussion Paper Guide

 

 

DATE

SESSION

READING

DUE

Tues. Jan 9

Introduction

 

Questions Set A

Thurs. Jan 11

Amistad Case as a Window

Davis, chap. 1

Adams before Supreme Court

 

Tues. Jan 16

Long History of Slavery

Davis, chap. 2

Aristotle on Slavery

New Testament on Slavery

 

Thurs. Jan 18

Intellectual History of Racism

Davis, chap 3

 

Tues. Jan 23

Exploration and Exploitation

Davis, chap. 4 to p. 91

 

Thurs. Jan 25

Labor in Spanish America

Davis, chap. 4 from p. 91

Michele da Cuneo,  Letter of 1495

De Las Casas, A Short Account

Valladolid Debate

 

Tues. Jan 30

The Sugar Economy

Davis, chap. 5

 

Thurs. Feb 1

The Middle Passage

Baquaqua, Biography

Equiano, chaps. 1-2

Discussion Paper Guide

Tues. Feb 6

North American Slavery

Davis, chap. 6

Thurs. Feb 8

Comparative Slave Regimes 

Peabody: pp. 5-8; 10-12; 15-18; 21-23; 31-36; 42-43; 45-52; 102-3; 134-35 

 

Tues. Feb 13

First-Person Narrative

Equiano, chaps. 3-4

 

Thurs. Feb 15

Between Slavery and Freedom

Equiano, chaps 5-6

Peabody, 68-74

Tues. Feb 20

Exam 1

 

Thurs. Feb 22

Paper Conferences

PAPER TOPICS

 

Spring Break

Tues. Mar 6

American Revolution

Davis, chap. 7

Peabody, 74-86

Questions Set B

Thurs. Mar 8

French Revolution

Davis, chap. 8 to 166

 National Assembly

Bibliography

T. Anthony

Tues. Mar 13

Haitian Uprising

Popkin, chaps. 2-3

Peabody, 5-10; 57-64

C. Pitzer

Thurs. Mar 15

Haitian Revolution

Popkin, chaps. 4-5

L. Moore

G. Cyan

Tues. Mar 20

Consequences of Revolution

Popkin, chap. 6

Davis, chap. 8 from 166

A. Murphy

Thurs. Mar 22

American South

Davis, chap.  9-10

A. Holmes

Tues. Mar 27

Abolitionism in Britain

Davis, chap. 12

C. Pitzer

Thurs. Mar 29

NO CLASS—paper writing

 

Thesis/Outline/Bib

Tues. Apr 3

Wilberforce the Evangelical 

Tompkins chaps. 1-8

Questions Set C

Thurs. Apr 5

Abolition of the Slave Trade

Tompkins, chaps 9-16

T. Anthony

L. Moore

Tues. Apr 10

Abolitionism in Film:

       Amazing Grace

Paper Due

Thurs. Apr 12

American Abolitionism

Davis, chap. 13

Antislavery Songs

G. Cyan

Tues. Apr 17

American Politics

Davis, chap. 14

Readings - US Antislavery

J. Sizemore

Thurs. Apr 19

Civil War

Davis, chap. 15

Lincoln, 2nd Inaugural

A. Murphy

Fri. Apr 20

 

 

Final Paper Due

Thurs. Apr 26

Exam 2 at 2:45 pm