Wright State University

History 3900--Global Encounters

C. Oldstone-Moore

Fall 2013

 

Christopher Oldstone-Moore

Millett 368

Office Hours: MWF 3:30-4:30

christopher.oldstone-moore@wright.edu

 

 

REQUIREMENTS

 

Date

Session

Reading

Due

Mon. Aug 26

Intro: Geography of Empire

 

Question Set A

Wed. Aug 28

Expansion of Great Britain

Smith, ch. 1

 

Fri. Aug 30

British India Begins

Judd, ch 3

 

Mon. Sep 2

No Class

 

 

Wed. Sep 4

Lab 1: East India Company

Smith, ch. 2

bring Smith

Fri. Sep 6

Industrialization and Reform

Webb and others

 

Mon. Sep 9

Lab 2: Missions and Empire

Smith, ch. 4

bring Smith

Wed. Sep 11

British South Africa

 Thompson

 

Fri. Sep 13

Discussion 1: Reform and Reaction

Trekkers

bring docs.

Mon. Sep 16

Age of Reform in India

Judd, ch. 4

 

Wed. Sep 18

Discussion 2: Indian Rebellion

Judd, ch. 5

bring Judd

Fri. Sep 20

Exam 1

 

 

Mon. Sep 23

Origins of the Opium Wars

Beeching, ch. 3

Question Set B

Wed. Sep 25

First Opium War

Beeching, ch. 4

 

Fri. Sep 27

No class

 

 

Mon. Sep 30

Discussion 3: First Opium War

Beeching, ch. 5

 

Wed. Oct 2

Second Opium War

Beeching, ch. 7

 

Fri. Oct 4

Lab 3: trade, patriotism and war

Parliamentary debate

Bring printed

link to class

Mon. Oct 7

The British Raj

Judd, ch. 6

 

Wed. Oct 9

Lab 4: The Raj

Smith, ch. 5

 

Fri. Oct 11

New Imperialism

 

 

Mon. Oct 14

Nigeria

Achebe, part I

 

Wed. Oct 16

Lab 5: Things Fall Apart

Achebe, part II

 

Fri. Oct 18

Discussion 4: Things Fall Apart

Achebe, part III

 

Mon. Oct 21

South African Gold

Fremont-Barnes (13-22)

 

Wed. Oct 23

Lab 6: Cecil Rhodes

Rhodes, "Confession"

bring  book & docs.

Fri. Oct 25

Boer War

Fremont-Barnes (23-70)

 

Mon. Oct 28

Movie: Breaker Morant

Smith, ch. 3

 

Wed. Oct 30

Movie: Breaker Morant

 

 

Fri. Nov 1

Discussion 5: Legacy of Boer War

Fremont-Barnes (74-91)

 

Mon. Nov 4

Exam 2

 

 

Wed. Nov 6

Imperial Idealists

Karl Pearson

Rudyard Kipling

Question Set C

Fri. Nov 8

Discussion 6: Boy Scouts

Baden-Powell, Scouting

bring docs

Mon. Nov 11

No Class

 

 

Wed.  Nov 13

China Under the Treaties

Gregory, "Stagnant China"

 

Fri. Nov 15

Lab 7: Chinese Nationalism

Veeser, Sun Yatsen

 

Mon. Nov 18

Indian Nationalism

Judd, ch. 7

 

Wed. Nov 20

Discussion 7: Gandhi

Judd, ch. 8

bring Judd

Fri. Nov 22

Kanthapura

Rao  chaps. 2-3

Study Guide for Reading

bring Rao

Mon. Nov 25

Discussion 8: Kanthapura

Rao, chaps 13-16

bring Rao

 

Thanksgiving Break

 

 

Mon. Dec 2

African Nationalism

Smith, ch. 10

 

Wed. Dec 4

Lab 8: African Decolonization

Smith, ch. 10

Verwoerd on Apartheid

bring Smith

Fri. Dec 6

Consequences of Empire

Kwarteng

 

 

Exam 3