Wright State University

                                                   History 1200--Modern Europe

                                                                 Spring 2014

 

Christopher Oldstone-Moore

Millett Hall 368

christopher.oldstone-moore@wright.edu

Office Hours: MWF 1-2:15 pm       

 

 

Requirements

                                                                                   

 

DATE

SESSION

READING

DUE

Mon. Jan 13

Introduction

 

Focus Questions

Wed. Jan 15

Renaissance Humanism

Development in Art

 

The Renaissance

 

Fri. Jan 17

Machiavelli on Cesare Borgia

Txt:  1-9; 50-56

 

Mon. Jan 20

No class

 

 

Wed. Jan 22

Machiavellian Politics

Txt: 64-72

 

Fri. Jan 24

Exploration and Exploitation

Txt: 85-99; 126-31

Quiz

Mon. Jan 27

Writing Day:

          Columbus and slavery

Txt: 143-54

Theme

Wed. Jan 29

The Reformation

Luther and the Reformation

 

Luther: Christian Liberty

Quiz

Fri. Jan 31

Protestants and Catholics

Txt: 157-59

Loyola: Spiritual Exercises

 

Mon. Feb 3

Religious Wars

Txt: 161-66

 

Wed. Feb 5

Common People in Fearful Times

Little Red Riding Hood

and other tales

 

Fri. Feb 7

Scientific Revolution

Txt: 167-76

Newton: rules of reason

Quiz

Mon. Feb 10

Science and Religion

Galileo: Letter

Txt: 198-200

 

Wed. Feb 12

EXAM I

 

 

Fri. Feb 14

Enlightenment

Txt: 298-300; 306-12 

 

Mon. Feb 17

Locke on Education

Txt: 300-4: 334-40

Quiz

Wed. Feb 19

Locke and Rousseau

Txt: 344-45

Rousseau on Education

 

Fri. Feb 21

Revolution

French Revolution

Quiz

Mon. Feb 24

Extension of Rights

Txt:  389-98

 

Wed. Feb 26

Industrial Revolution

Industrial Revolution

Quiz

Fri. Feb 28

Writing Day:

                     Factory Life

Views of Factory Life

Theme

 

SPRING BREAK

 

 

Mon. Mar 10

Ideas of Progress

J.S. Mill On Liberty

 

Wed. Mar 12

Liberalism and Socialism

Txt: 511-19

 

Fri. Mar 14

Science and Evolution

Txt: 547-57

Darwin, Descent of Man

 

Mon. Mar 17

Triumph of Nationalism

Txt: 452-461

Quiz

Wed. Mar 19

Imperialism

New Imperialism

 

Fri. Mar 21

Imperialist Ideals

Karl Pearson, National Life

Baden-Powell: Scouting

Theme

Mon. Mar 24

Mass Society

Beaven, Leisure, Citizenship and the Working Class, pp. 75-77

 

Wed. Mar 26

Popular Culture

Songs of Tin Pan Alley

 

Fri. Mar 28

EXAM 2

 

 

Mon. Mar 31

Total War

Txt: 593-603

 

Wed. Apr 2

World War I

All Quiet, chaps 1-5

Quiz

Fri. Apr 4

Writing Day:  WW I

All Quiet, chaps. 6-9

Txt: 633-34; 638-40

Theme

Mon. Apr 7

All Quiet on the Western Front

 Finish the book

 

Wed. Apr 9

Modernism

Modernist Art

 

Fri. Apr 11

 Fascism

Txt:  618-24; 673-87

Quiz

Mon. Apr 14

Total War, part 2

Txt: 687-96,

 

Wed. Apr 16

European Recovery

Txt: 707-14  

Quiz

Fri. Apr 18

European Integration

Txt: 715-25

 

Mon Apr 21

Writing Day:

                New Liberalism

Songs of the 60s

Theme

(makeup)

Wed. Apr 23

1989

Txt: 726-733

 

Fri. Apr 25

European Union?

TBA

 

Fri. May 2

EXAM 3  at 10:15 am

Quiz Review