History 1100-Honors

Ancient and Medieval Europe

 

Christopher Oldstone-Moore

Millett 368

christopher.oldstone-moore@wright.edu

 

     Requirements                                                              Art Page

 

 

Date

Session

Bring book and/or copy of extra

readings

Readings

from Spielvogel unless indicated

 

Due

Mon. Aug 26

Introduction

 

Question Set A

Wed. Aug 28

Mesopotamian Legacy

Hammurabi's Code

 

Fri. Aug 30

Covenant and the Law

Exodus

 

Mon. Sep 2

No Class

 

 

Wed. Sep 4

Prophets and Divine History

Jeremiah

 

Fri. Sep 6

King David

II Samuel

 

Mon. Sep 9

Greek Polis

Martin: 65-69; 79-90

 

Wed. Sep 11

Sparta and Athens

Martin: 97-103; 109-15;

                126-37

 

Fri. Sep 13

Rise of Athens

Martin: 145-55

Pericles, Funeral Oration

 

Mon. Sep 16

Classical Culture

Classical Art

 

Wed. Sep 18

Athenian Defeat

Martin: 186-92; 200-206

 

 

Fri. Sep 20

Trial of Socrates:  truth or trouble?

Plato's Apology

Plato's Crito

Aristophanes, The Clouds

Guide to Trial Briefs

Mon. Sep 23

Intellectual Revolution

Plato’s Allegory of the Cave

Wed. Sep 25

Hellenistic World

See Art Page Above

 

Fri. Sep 27

No Class

 

 

Mon. Sep 30

Exam 1

 

 

Wed. Oct 2

Roman Republic

Oldstone-Moore

Question Set B

Fri. Oct 4

The Republic breaks down

Mellor: 1-16

 

Mon. Oct 7

Augustus and Authority

Mellor: 16-25

          docs:  7, 14

 

Wed. Oct 9

Augustus and Government

Mellor: 25-37

          docs: 23, 26, 32, 36

 

Fri. Oct 11

Trial of Augustus: Progress or Tyranny?

Mellor: 40-49

          doc: 55

 

Mon. Oct 14

Christian Rome

 

 

Wed. Oct 16

Christian and Muslim Empires

 

 

Fri. Oct 18

Islamic Ideas

The Qu'ran

 

Mon. Oct 21

Carolingian Europe

 

 

Wed. Oct 23

Peasants and Aristocrats

Jordan: 5-19

 

Fri. Oct 25

Spiritual Revolution

Jordan: 137-42

 

Mon. Oct 28

Trial of Gregory VII: Holy or Horror?

Jordan: 85-93; 97-99

 

Wed. Oct 30

Crusades

Jordan: 100-112

Raymond d'Aguiliers

 

Fri. Nov 1

Exam 2 

 

 

Mon. Nov 4

Chivalry and Tournaments

Jordan: 129-33

Song of Roland

Question Set C

Wed. Nov 6

 

 

 

Fri. Nov 8

Discussion of Lancelot

Lancelot: Knight of the Cart

 

Mon. Nov 11

No Class--Veteran's Day

 

 

Wed.  Nov 13

Trial of Lovers: Marriage and Love Go Together?

Lovers' Trial

 

Fri. Nov 15

No Class

Jordan: 143-56

Thesis/Outline

Mon. Nov 18

Rise of Kingdoms

(Jordan: 143-56)

 

Wed. Nov 20

Black Death

Aberth: 1-6; 11-14

 

Fri. Nov 22

Experience of the Plague

Aberth: docs. 15-17

                 (pp. 71-82)

 

Mon. Nov 25

Panel of Experts: What was the Black Death?

Aberth: 94-97

 

 

Thanksgiving Break

 

 

Mon. Dec 2

Crisis of the Church

Jordan, 314-25

Essay Due

Wed. Dec 4

Hundred Years' War

Shakespeare: Henry V

 

Fri. Dec 6

Trial of Joan of Arc

Trial Record

 

Mon. Dec 9

Exam 3   at 12:30 pm