Helping WSU Students Since 1967


Staff Development Committee


The Staff Development Committee is charged by the Vice President for Student Affairs to create development opportunities and programs for the staff within the division.

Committee Membership

The committee consists of one representative from each unit within the division. Representatives are appointed by each department Director. Representatives serve two year terms with half of the committee rotating off each year.


Upcoming Events
Recent Events
  • Brown Bag Lunch: “Working with Students on the Autism Spectrum” with Heather Rando & Dr. Erendira Lopez-Garcia
  • Brown Bag Lunch: Q & A with Dr. Dan Abrahamowicz, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Student Affairs Basketball Outing
  • Brown Bag Lunch: “Your Legal Liability” with Dr. Gary Dickstein
  • Brown Bag Lunch: "Toward Defining a Curriculum in Student Affairs" with Dr. Dwayne Todd & Nicholas LaTorre
  • Student Affairs Baseball Cookout
  • Brown Bag: "Understanding Your Wellness Program" with Peggy Bloom


The Staff Development Committee periodically publishes a newsletter to provide updates on what is happening within the Division of Student Affairs.


  • School Supply Drive during Annual Kick Off Breakfast helping local grandparents raising their grandchildren
  • Food Drive During Annual School's Out Picnic helping the WSU Friendship Food Pantry

Meetings & Members

Meeting Information

The Student Affairs Staff Development Committee meets every other Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. in 021 Student Union.


The current members are:

  • Dr. Gary Dickstein (chair), Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Lisa Eizenga, Community Director, Residence Life and Housing
  • Christopher Hogan, Assistant Director, Community Standards and Student Conduct
  • Debbie Lamp, Associate Director, Student Activities
  • Nelda Mattison, Police Officer, University Police Department
  • Twila Murray, Assistant to the Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Dan Perry, Evening and Weekend Manager, Student Union
  • Sue Rader, Assistant to the Executive Director, Nutter Center
  • Diana Riggs, Communication and Development Coordinator, Disability Services
  • Cynthia Schmid, Student Services Specialist, Community Standards and Student Conduct

Please contact Twila Murray at if you are interested in joining.