Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Ally (LGBTQA) Affairs

Scholarships and Financial Aid

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer & Ally (LGBTQA) Scholarships

LGBTQA Community Scholarship

The Wright State University LGBTQA Community Scholarship was established by the Office of Student Activities and made possible by the generous donations of Daniel Hernandez Jr., first responder to US Representative Gabby Giffords; the Rainbow Alliance; and WSU faculty, staff, and alumni.

The scholarship is awarded annually to one eligible Wright State University undergraduate student who has demonstrated leadership, campus involvement, a commitment to the LGBTQA community and has a need for scholarship support. While only one recipient is awarded each year, applicants may apply annually as long as they are eligible for consideration.

  • The annual award amount varies and will be applied to the students University Bursars account.
  • Eligibility Applicants must be registered Wright State University students with a minimum of 6 credit hours.
  • Applicants must continue as a Wright State University student after the scholarship is awarded.
  • Applicants must have a 2.0 cumulative grade point average or higher at the time of application.
  • Applicants must self-identify as part of the LGBTQ+ community

Potential recipients must submit a complete application and two letters of reference.

Darrell Stanley Scholarship

This memorial scholarship will support undergraduate seniors who identify as LGBTQA. Successful applicants must be living an authentic life and be personally responsible for their education.  Number and amount of awards will vary. 
Recipients must: 
  • be graduating within 12 months
  • be part of the LGBTQA community
  • be living an authentic life
  • be personally responsible for their education
  • be employed part-time or in an internship position
  • be in good academic standing
  • be active in  leadership roles
  • include an essay with the application demonstrating their active involvement as a leader. This involvement may be on campus or in the community and to honor Darrell Stanley, that leadership must include strength of character, courage in the face of adversity and the behavior of a role model.


Application Process and Deadline

All applications must go through the Wright State University Scholarship Application. You must select "YES" to identifying as a member of the LGBTQA+ community to be considered for this scholarship. The LGBTQA Affairs Advisory Committee will review the applications to determine the recipient.

For further information or questions please contact Petey Peterson, Director, LGBTQA Affairs,, (937) 775-4611.