Fall 2020 Update

Fall 2020 Update: Wright State University’s Dayton and Lake Campuses plan to return to teaching for 2020 Fall Semester on August 24 with a dynamic and flexible mixture of in-person and remote courses. Read more about our Right Here. Wright State. This Fall. plan.

Divisional Awards

Katie Deedrick Above & Beyond Award

The Division of Student Affairs' successes are made possible because of its hardworking and caring staff. Help us to recognize these dedicated staff members that exemplify going above and beyond for the division by nominating them for the Katie Deedrick Above & Beyond Award.

The Katie Deedrick Above & Beyond Award celebrates a staff member that always goes the extra mile by giving their time, support, or excellent service to our students, colleagues, and/or WSU community. Staff is invited to nominate someone by writing a paragraph about why a particular staff member is deserving of this award and email it to christopher.hogan@wright.edu.

First Recipient: Katie Deedrick, Director, Student Support Services




June 2019: Jill Rarick, Administrative Support Coordinator, Residence Life and Housing

Past Recipients

May 2019: Allison Newlin, Staff Therapist, Counseling and Wellness Services


April 2019: Stephanie Allen, Managing Attorney, Student Legal Services













March 2019: Julie Bertsos, Special Event Support Coordinator, Student Union Administrative Office

February 2019: Billy Willis, Assistant Director, Competitive Sports

January 2019: Eric Corbitt, Director, Student Union, Campus Recreation and Student Activities












December 2018: Gina Keucher, Program Director, Student Activities


November 2018: Mark Queen and Lisa Eizenga (Not Pictured), Community Director, Residence Life & Housing

September 2018: Gary Dickstein, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs

May 2018: Mia Honaker, Administrative Support Coordinator, LANA














March 2018: Amanda Watkins, Associate Director, Veteran and Military Center

Amanda Watkins

January 2018: Julia Acosta, Director, Latino, Asian, and Native American Center

Julia Acosta

December 2017: Destinee Biesemeyer, Coordinator for Health Promotion, Counseling and Wellness Services

Destinee Biesemeyer

November 2017: Petey Peterson, Director, LGBTQA Affairs

Petey Peterson

October 2017: Lisa Burke, Accounting Clerk, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs

Katie Deedrick Award - Lisa Burke

September 2017: Jennifer Turpin, Assistant Director, Fitness and Wellness, Campus Recreation

June 2017: Katie Deedrick, Director, Student Support Services

Katie Deedrick


The Wright Stuff Award

The Wright Stuff Award is designed to acknowledge a department within or external to the Division of Student Affairs that has:

Trophy Picture

  • Gone out of their way to help another department
  • Gone above and beyond the call of duty to assist students
  • Consistently done more with less
  • Been innovative with programming and collaboration
  • Done an amazing job with a specific program or initiative

Staff is invited to give a department a pat on the back by writing a paragraph about why that unit is deserving of this award and email it to christopher.hogan@wright.edu.

*In the spirit of the award, please nominate a department other than your own*

The Staff Development Committee will review nominations and will recognize a department each semester at a division-wide activity. 

We look forward to reviewing your submissions!


Spring 2019: Counseling and Wellness Services


Past Recipients

Fall 2018: Residence Life and Housing

Spring 2018: Women's Center

Women's Center

Summer 2017: Office of LGBTQA Affairs

Office of LGBTQA Affairs