Bias Incident Response Team (BIRT)

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Wright State University bias response intervention is to organize and implement a comprehensive university response to bias-related incidents. The Bias Incident Response Team (BIRT) is comprised of representatives from various offices at Wright State that will work collaboratively to review incidents and develop and deliver interventions. The BIRT will evaluate and respond to bias-related incidents, share information, foster good working relationships, and participate in and provide ongoing training.

Name Title Email
Dr. Rick Danals Director, Office of Student Activities (BIRT Co-Chair) rick.danals@wright.edu
Dr. Patricia Schiml Lecturer, Department of Psychology, CoSM (BIRT Co-Chair) patricia.schiml@wright.edu
Jessica Baker Graduate Assistant, OVPSA baker.310@wright.edu
Katie Deedrick Director, Student Support Services katie.deedrick@wright.edu
Petey Peterson Director, LGBTQA Affairs petey.peterson@wright.edu
Mark Queen Community Director, Residence Life and Housing mark.queen@wright.edu
Charene T. Thornton Student Services Coordinator, Career Center charene.thornton@wright.edu
Taylor Watkins Graduate Assistant, Office of Student Activities watkins.72@wright.edu
Dr. Tara Hill Assistant Professor & Director of the School Counseling Program, CEHS tara.hill@wright.edu