Bias Incident Response Team (BIRT)

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Wright State University bias response intervention is to organize and implement a comprehensive university response to bias-related incidents. The Bias Incident Response Team (BIRT) is comprised of representatives from various offices at Wright State that will work collaboratively to review incidents and develop and deliver interventions. The BIRT will evaluate and respond to bias-related incidents, share information, foster good working relationships, and participate in and provide ongoing training.

Name Title Email
Dr. Gary Dickstein Interim Vice President for Student Affairs, OVPSA (BIRT Chair) gary.dickstein@wright.edu
Matt Boaz Chief Diversity Officer  matthew.boaz@wright.edu
Dr. Patricia Schiml Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology, CoSM  patricia.schiml@wright.edu
Katie Deedrick Director, Student Support Services katie.deedrick@wright.edu
Petey Peterson Director, LGBTQA Affairs

petey.peterson@wright.edu   

Dr. Nicole Carter Director, Women's Center nicole.carter@wright.edu
Charene T. Thornton Student Services Coordinator, Career Center charene.thornton@wright.edu
Mia Honaker Admin. Support Coordinator, Latinx, Asian, and Native American Affairs mia.honaker@wright.edu
Dr. Tara Hill Assistant Professor, CEHS

tara.hill@wright.edu

Dominque McPhaul Student Government, Director of Diversity and Inclusion mcphaul.2@wright.edu
Shaquetta Morris Graduate Assistant, Office of LGBTQA Affairs morris.270@wright.edu
Dr. Sarah Peters Counseling and Wellness Services sarah.peters@wright.edu
Heather Rando Associate Director, Office of Disability Services heather.rando@wright.edu
Dr. Chris Taylor Director, Community Standards and Student Conduct chris.taylor@wright.edu
Lindsay Wight Interim Director and Title IX Coordinator, Office of Equity and Inclusion lindsay.wight@wright.edu
Gloria Pappaterra Student Representative for Latinx, Asian, and Native American Center pappaterra.3@wright.edu
Maryam Gula Student Representative for Muslim Student Association gula.6@wright.edu
Ciara Newsome Community Director, Residence Life and Housing ciara.newsome@wright.edu