Right Here. Right Now. Wright State.

COVID-19 information and resources. Visit our Coronavirus website.

Retirees Association

WSU Guardian: COLA committee proposes downsizing 10 departments to 3

Millett Hall

Excerpt from the Wright State Guardian

The College of Liberal Arts (COLA) plans separation into three schools among retrenchment, retirement and declining student enrollment. 

The COLA Reorganization Committee, created under outgoing Dean Linda Caron, concluded its discussions, finalizing its report Monday afternoon. 

The report outlines the Committee’s directive of reorganizing the school while using the limited resources available to the College. Included in the report are current faculty and student data, along with proposals presented based on this data.

Proposals include separating COLA into three schools: the School of the Arts, the School of the Humanities and the School of the Social Sciences. COLA is currently comprised of 10 different schools. 

Current majors will be divided into these Schools based on subject matter. 

Languages, political science, and international affairs-related degrees will move to the School of Social Sciences, art and theater-related degrees will move to the School of the Arts, English and related degrees move to the School of the Humanities.