Student Associations & Honor Societies

Student Honors Associations

Student Honors Association (SHA)

The Student Honors Association (SHA) is open to all students enrolled in the Honors program. SHA sponsors student and student/faculty service and social activities, sponsors student attendance at MEHA, and elects the student officers who serve on the Honors Committee. Contact SHA President Lauren Onianwa for more information.

Honors Director's Advisory Board

The Honors Director's Advisory Board was formed in 2009 to help foster communication between the Honors student body and the Honors administration. Students are selected to participate for one academic year but may reapply for consecutive years.

Honors Regional and National Conferences

The Wright State University Honors Program is affiliated with the Mid-East Honors Association (MEHA) and the National Collegiate Honors Conference (NCHC). Honors staff regularly attend and present at the regional and national conferences, often accompanied by Honors students. Scholarships are available through NCHC; consult the NCHC website or the Honors office for more details.

National Honor Societies

Alpha Lambda Delta

Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD), an honorary society for first-year students, has existed on campus since 1987 and is administered through the Division of Student Success. Membership is by invitation only to students who earn a 3.5 GPA or better during their first year.  ALD members are eligible to apply for eighteen to twenty $3,000 graduate fellowships that are offered each year. For more information, contact the Division of Student Success. 

Phi Kappa Phi

Chartered in Spring 1990, Wright State Chapter #252 of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi inducts juniors, seniors, and graduate students from all majors who rank near the top of their classes. The National Society, headquartered in Baton Rouge, LA, has an attractive scholarship and award program. The chapter annually elects two Student Vice Presidents to serve one-year terms of office. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only and is an honor that lasts a lifetime.

Phi Theta Kappa

An honorary society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa chartered an alumni chapter at Wright State in 1993. Phi Theta Kappans who transfer to Wright State to complete their baccalaureate may apply for a $1500 (one-year renewable) scholarship. The Honors Program encourages the participation of Phi Theta Kappa members, particularly in departmental Honors. Honors courses completed at other institutions will count toward completion of Honors designation requirements at Wright State. Consult with an Honors advisor.