Regional Summit at Wright State University

Regional Summit

2014 Regional Summit

On August 15, 2014, Wright State President David R. Hopkins welcomed distinguished leaders to the seventh annual Regional Summit. The event will examined how higher education can work with community, business, and government partners to develop initiatives in workforce development and globalization that will lead to a stronger Ohio.​ Read the full story in the Wright State Newsroom

"A Stronger Region, a Stronger Ohio: Workforce Development, Globalization, and Higher Education"  

Friday, August 15, 2014
8 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
McLin Gym
Wright State University Nutter Center

Time Topic
8:00 a.m.

Welcome and Morning Speakers

  • S. Narayanan, Provost, Wright State Univeristy

Master of Ceremonies

  • Greg Scharer, Executive Director of Alumni Relations, Wright State University

New Model of Higher Education

  • David R. Hopkins, President, Wright State University

State Strategy for Federal & Military Jobs                            

  • Senator Chris Widener, Ohio Senate, District 10

Workforce Development

  • Dennis J. Andersh, Chief Operating Officer, Wright State Research Institute
9:15 a.m.

Roundtable Discussions and Report Out

  • S. Narayanan, Provost, Wright State Univeristy
10:45 a.m. Break
11 a.m.

Global Dayton: Spurring Ohio's Growth

Featured Speakers:

  • Kristin D. Sobolik, Dean, College of Liberal Arts, Wright State University
  • Matt Joseph, Commissioner, City of Dayton 
  • L. Tony Ortiz, Associate Vice President of Latino Affairs, Wright State University
  • Michael Wiehe, Director, Center for Urban and Public Affairs, Wright State University


  • Musical Performance by ETHOS, Wright State University

   Featured Speaker:

  • Senator Bill Beagle, Ohio Senate District 5
    Statewide Update on Workforce Development
1 p.m.

Panel Discussion on Globalization

Distinguished Panel:

  • Michelle Streeter-Ferrari, Director, Center for International Education, Wright State University (moderator)
  • Colonel Cassie B. Barlow, Former 88th Air Base Wing and Installation Commander of Wright-Patterson Air Force Base
  • Erik Collins, Director, Community and Economic Development of Montgomery County
  • Jared Ebbing, Director, Community/Economic Development of Mercer County
  • Senator Peggy Lehner, Ohio Senate District 6
  • Pete Williams, Economic Development Specialist, Greene County
2:15 p.m.


  • David R. Hopkins, President, Wright State University