Fall 2020 Update

Fall 2020 Update: Wright State University’s Dayton and Lake Campuses plan to return to teaching for 2020 Fall Semester on August 24 with a dynamic and flexible mixture of in-person and remote courses. Read more about our Right Here. Wright State. This Fall. plan.

Presidential Lecture Series

Diane Nash

Recognition Year: 

Founding Member of Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee

"A Reflection upon My Experiences as a Social Activist During the Civil Rights Movement"

Friday, January 14, 2005
WSU Student Union

Diane Nash's lifetime of activism started in 1959 at Fisk University when James Lawson offered several nonviolence workshops in which Nash took part. As an activist, she has crossed paths with many famous Civil Rights leaders, including Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Nash was one of the founding students of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee and coordinator of the Freedom Ride. Appointed by President John F. Kennedy to a national committee that promoted the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, she was awarded the John F. Kennedy Library Distinguished American Award in March 2003, and the LBJ Award for Leadership in Civil Rights in March 2004.

This is the inaugural address in the Presidential Lecture Series, developed to advance human justice and promote the university's commitment to creating a diverse university community and learning environment.