Visit our Coronavirus website for all COVID-19 information and resources.

Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Response

Faculty Line #236 - April 17, 2020

Faculty Office 

138 Fawcett Hall 

Faculty Line #236 

April 17, 2020 


As we begin to wrap up a most challenging semester, I am happy that, even though there is very little routine in our current lives, this Faculty Line is mostly about routine faculty business. 

Congratulations to all who were successful in their bid to serve on next year’s Faculty Senate, and thanks to everyone who put their names forward and ran for a seat. Thanks as well to those Faculty Senators who have served and are stepping aside from this role. For AY 2020-21, we welcome the following successful candidates from the Spring 2020 elections:1 

1 For a complete roster of the 2020-21 Officers and Members, please see: 

Terry Oroszi, BSOM Subashini Ganapathy, CECS 

Matt Rizki, CECS Huma Bashir, CEHS 

Hannah Chai, CEHS Hope Jennings, CoLA 

Sarah McGinley, CoLA Ivan Medvedev, CoSM 

Eric Rowley, CoSM Rebecca Teed, CoSM 

Dawn Wooley, CoSM Steven Pedler, Lake 

Rachel Sturm, RSCOB Scott Williams, RSCOB 

Congratulations as well to the successful recipients of the first ever Faculty Initiated Recruitment Program (FIRP), as selected by the members of the Faculty Budget Priorities Committee: 

  • • Liam Anderson and Vaughn Shannon (School of Public and International Affairs), “High School Model UN Program” 
  • • Eric Bennett (Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Physiology), “HAPI-Neuro Lab” 
  • • Linda Caron, James Carter, Stephanie Jo Dickey, Lee Hannah, Caroline Hillard, Ameila Hubbard, Nenad Jovanovic, John Kurokawa, Bruce Laforse, Joshua Mabra and Carol Morgan (CoLA Senate), “Liberal Arts Recruitment Videos” 
  • • Bill Jobert (Music), “Wright State Honor Band” 
  • • Gretchen McNamara (Music), “Brass Festival” 
  • • Karen Meyer (Computer Science), “Computer Science and Engineering Recruitment Videos” 
  • • Ann Stalter, Sherry Farra and Deborah Ulrich (College of Nursing and Health), “Alternative Pre-Licensure Program” 
  • • Sarah Twill, Shreya Bhandari, Doug Keown, Andrea Jordan and Hyejin Kim (Social Work), “MSW Lunch and Learn” 


In the fall we will share the successful recipients of the first ever Faculty Led Retention Program (FLRP), which are being selected by a subcommittee formed of members from the Undergraduate Student Success and Graduate Student Affairs Committees. We thank the Edwards Administration for their support of both of these initiatives. 

Thanks to Dawn Wooley (Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Physiology) and Giancarlo Mariani (University Center for International Education) for kicking off our first “Shelter in Place” (SiP) lecture series last week; it was a huge success! We hope many of you can join us for our upcoming lectures, including Lee Hannah (School of Public and International Affairs) on Friday, April 17 (3:00-4:00pm), “How will COVID-19 Impact the 2020 Election?”, and Jeremy Schumm (School of Professional Psychology) on Thursday, April 23 (4:00-5:00pm), “The Psychology of Trauma and COVID-19.” These SiP talks are open to all Wright State students, faculty and staff, as well as to the general public. We plan to continue this weekly series, alternating between Thursdays and Fridays, through at least the beginning of the summer and will post the titles and Webex links on the Faculty Senate webpage2 as well as on the official WSU calendar.3 Special thanks to CIO Craig Woolley and his team from CaTS for assisting with the tech needs for these lectures. Each presentation will be available via WSU Video-on-Demand.4 Thanks also to Jane Wildermuth from Dunbar Libraries, who is archiving the lectures as part of CORE Scholar collection.5 

2; under “Frequently Used Links”. 




We will be conducting our April 20th Faculty Senate meeting in a virtual format. As always, our meetings are open to all WSU faculty, staff and students, so please join us. You may access the online meeting via the following Webex link: (Password: Raiders). The meeting agenda and supporting documents may all be found at: 

During this time of unprecedented crises, our faculty have been truly extraordinary. Thank you for your commitment to your students, to your colleagues, and to the academic mission of Wright State University. As the summer months approach, please take some time to refresh and rejuvenate. I wish you all the best with your summer research and teaching, as well as your much deserved time away from the grind. In the weeks and months ahead, please don’t hesitate to reach out if I, or your other Faculty Senate leaders, may assist in any way. We’ll be in touch as warranted. In the interim, please mark your calendars for our first Faculty Senate meeting of the 2020-2021 Academic Year: Monday, September 14, 2020 @ 2:30pm. Until then, please stay healthy and do take care of yourselves and each other. 

Most sincerely, 

Laura Luehrmann, Professor 

Faculty Senate President