When you add a person to your Pilot Classlist, you have to designate a user role for that person. The role determines what permissions the user has within your course. You can also change the permissions that individual users have in your course.
To change an existing user’s role in your course, open the Classlist tool, check the box beside the user’s name, and click on Enrollment in the navigation bar.
Select the new role for the user, then click on Save.
Some of the roles that are available and permissions that go with the roles are listed below:
A user with Faculty status can add and modify course content, add new users to the class list, access and edit grades, and submit final grades to Banner (if that user is the faculty-of-record in Banner).
The Co-faculty role has all of the same permissions as the Faculty role, but cannot submit final grades to Banner.
Teaching Assistant (TA)
A Teaching Assistant can view and enter grades, but cannot add or modify course content.
The TA_Designer can view and enter grades, add and modify course content, and add new users to the class list (same permissions as Co-faculty).
The TA_Designer_No Grades user can add and modify course content, but cannot add users nor access grades.
In the Student role, a user can access and interact with course content, take Quizzes and participate in Discussions. Can view only his or her own grades.
The Student_Imcomplete role has all of the same permissions as the Student role, but has indefinite access to the course, even after the course is closed to other students.
The Preceptor can view all course content and participate in Discussions but is unable to modify course content or access Grades.