The Boonshoft School of Medicine & The College of Science+Mathematics


The Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (BMB) was founded in 1974 concurrently with the creation of the Wright State University School of Medicine and has recruited faculty with strong research interests in the basic biomedical sciences. The Department currently has 13 full and 3 adjunct faculty members, who teach a variety of courses in biological and medical fields, carry out world-class research, and provide university and community service to Wright state employees, students, and Dayton community. The department faculty lead several research initiatives and centers including the Center for Genomics Research and the Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Laboratory.

Department by numbers

  • Faculty – 13
  • Administrative personnel – 3
  • Researchers – 10
  • Graduate students – 15 Ph.D. and 7 MS
  • Undergraduate research students – 10

In the past five years, the department has:

  • Graduated 21 master’s students
  • Graduated 10 Ph.D. students
  • Generated $8,335,411 in external grant dollars from a variety of agencies and organizations, including: National Institute of Health, National Science Foundation, American Heart Association, Department of Defense, and the Air Force Research Laboratories.
  • Published over 134 manuscripts
  • Adjunct faculty have published an additional 88 manuscripts