Wright State University Home PageWSU Retirees Association

Home | Board | Benefits | By-Laws | Activities | Contributions | Forms | Annual Report  Minutes | Extension | Information | Recipes
End of this page.

WSURA Activities 2008-2009 Schedule

Abe Bassett & Joanne Risacher, Coordinators
The WSURA Office telephone number is 775-2777.

For your advance planning, upcoming events include:

Fall Quarter Events

Thursday, Sept. 25 11:30 – 1:00 Lunch with Greg Bernhardt, Dean, College of Education and Human Services—overview of STEM high school project

Location:  Student Union – Cambiar Room

Cost:  Self pay lunch from Union Market

RSVP by Friday, Sept. 19 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

Friday, Oct. 3 6:00 Dining In – Greek Dinner 

Hosts: Abe and Sharon Bassett

Cost: Individual dish plus shared cost of Entrée

RSVP by Friday, September 26 to Abe Bassett at abassett@who.rr.com

Wednesday, Oct. 22 11:00 Presentation:  Planning for Travel and Recreation During Retirement

Location:  Student Union (across from the Health Fair which is held in the Multipurpose Room)

Thursday, Nov. 20 1:00 – 3:00 Socrates Café

The Socrates Café is a facilitated conversation about a topic of interest to those in attendance. The topic of the day, chosen by the group can be discussed openly and honestly in a friendly and respectful setting. There are no prerequisites or required readings. (For a more complete description of this idea see www.philosopher.org

Location: The Greene “Groundz4Living” meeting room at 50 Chestnut Street, suite 224. The meeting place is adjacent to the Chipotle Mexican Grill and across the street from Panera Bread. Participants may bring food and drinks into the meeting room. The room will be available from 1:00 p.m. with the discussion period from 1:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Facilitator: Abe Bassett

Cost: Carry in lunch or snack

RSVP by Friday Nov. 14 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

Sunday, Dec. 7 11:00 Dining In – Sunday Brunch

Hosts: Gerry and Jerry Petrak

Cost: individuals will be asked to bring a dish of their choice within a designated category assigned by the host, for example egg dishes, pastries, etc.

RSVP by Monday, December 1 to Gerry Petrak by e-mail gerry.petrak@gmail.com or phone 426-1646

 

Winter Quarter 2009

Sunday, Jan. 11 11:00 Dining Out Sunday Brunch

Location TBD

Cost: Individual pay brunch

RSVP by Monday. January 5 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

Thursday, Feb. 5 WSU Basketball Outing

WSU vs. Valparaiso

Pizza and drinks at 6:00; game starts at 7:00

Location: WSU Nutter Center

Cost: Tickets free; pizza $5.00 per person

RSVP by Monday, January 26 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

Thursday, Mar. 12 11:30 – 1:00 Lunch with Bob Grant, WSU Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

Location: Student Union Cambiar Room

Cost: Individual pay lunch from Union Market

RSVP by Friday, March 6 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

 

Spring Quarter 2009

Friday, April 10 6:00 Dining In – German Dinner

Hosts: Tom and Helen Listerman

Cost: Individual dish plus shared cost of entrée

RSVP by Friday, April 3 to Helen Listerman at helenlisterman@yahoo.com

Sunday, May 17 3:00 WSU Theater—Titanic: The Musical

Dinner to follow: location TBA

Location: WSU Festival Theater

Cost: Theater ticket $5 plus individual pay dinner

RSVP by Friday, May 8 to joanne.risacher@wright.edu

 

Updated September 19, 2008

End of this page.
[ WSURA | Wright State University ]
End of this page.