Click here to go to AAUP-WSU's home page.

Negotiations: Article 33, Retirement

Wright State University Chapter

American Association of University Professors

AAUP-WSU has proposed the article below for inclusion in the first collective bargaining agreement (CBA) for non-tenure-eligible (NTE) faculty. Our negotiating team handed it to the administration at the initial negotiating session on March 11, 2013. Reports about the status of this article will be found below the article itself.

See our CBA Negotiations page for a roster of the AAUP-WSU negotiating team, brief reports about each Monday's negotiation session, and an article-by-article summary table with links to detailed information about each individual article that either the administration or AAUP-WSU proposes to include in the CBA.

Article 33


33.1 An eligible NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty Member as defined by the Wright State University Alternative Retirement Plan may elect at any time within his or her 90 day election period to participate in the Wright State University Alternative Retirement Program (ARP) instead of the retirement program offered by the State Teachers Retirement System of Ohio (STRS). Eligible Members of the NTE Bargaining Unit may elect to participate in the ARP using any of the carriers approved by the Ohio Department of Insurance who have been authorized by the Wright State University Board of Trustees. The University contribution to the ARP on behalf of a NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty Member shall be the greater of 1) the University contribution to the ARP for non-Bargaining Unit Faculty Members, or 2) the University contribution to STRS for NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty Members, less any mandatory contribution to STRS required of the University by Ohio Revised Code Chapter 3305 or other applicable law. The University will notify AAUP-WSU of any increases or decreases in the mandatory contributions to STRS.

33.2 NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty Members who are not eligible to elect an ARP or who elect the State Teachers Retirement System of Ohio (STRS) for their retirement program will be enrolled in STRS as required by the Ohio Revised Code. Employee contributions to STRS will be deducted from the Member’s pay on a pre-tax basis.

Status of Negotiations about the Above Article

April 22, 2013

The parties' Chief Negotiators initialed initialed -- "TA'd" -- this article, thus signifying tentative agreement on this article. Here is a pdf file showing the TA'd article.

April 1, 2013

The administration submitted a counterproposal in which it removed the "NTE" designation (as is appropriate in light of terminology to be adopted in Article 2 (Recognition)) and thus reverted to language found in the current CBA for tenure-eligible and tenured (TET) faculty.

March 18, 2013

Noting that the language above proposed by AAUP-WSU is adapted from the current CBA for tenure-eligible and tenured (TET) faculty, both parties discussed whether recent changes in STRS would necessitate changes in this article.

Return to the AAUP-WSU home page.

This page was last modified on Tuesday, April 23, 2013. Corrections, comments, and suggestions are most welcome. Contact the webmaster for this page (Jim Vance) at, telephone 937-775-2206. To contact the chapter, please see our Staff, Officers, and Committees page.