Click here to go to AAUP-WSU's home page.

Negotiations: Article 32, Dues Check-Off and Fair Share

Wright State University Chapter

American Association of University Professors

AAUP-WSU has proposed the article below for inclusion in the first collective bargaining agreement (CBA) for non-tenure-eligible (NTE) faculty. Our negotiating team handed it to the administration at the initial negotiating session on March 11, 2013. Reports about the status of this article will be found below the article itself.

See our CBA Negotiations page for a roster of the AAUP-WSU negotiating team, brief reports about each Monday's negotiation session, and an article-by-article summary table with links to detailed information about each individual article that either the administration or AAUP-WSU proposes to include in the CBA.

Article 32

Dues Check-Off and Fair Share

32.1 The regular AAUP-WSU dues shall be established under the terms of the AAUP-WSU Constitution and Bylaws and certified to the University by the AAUP-WSU. Upon written authorization of payroll deductions, the University shall deduct AAUP-WSU dues from the paychecks of all NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty who are members of the AAUP-WSU in equal increments, and transmit the amount deducted to the AAUP-WSU.

32.1.1 The AAUP-WSU will provide to the University the following information at least sixty (60) calendar days before the date of the payroll when the change takes effect:

  • Changes to the rates (percentages) to be deducted for member dues or for fair share fees.

32.1.2 The AAUP-WSU will provide to the University the following information at least thirty (30) calendar days before the date of the payroll when the change takes effect:

  • Names of new objectors and the amount to be deducted from the paycheck of each.
  • Names of NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty who will change from one of the following three categories to another:  member, fair share payer, objector.

32.2 The University will make every effort to forward checked-off dues and the fair share fees to the AAUP-WSU one week following the end of the month. Each month, a report will be sent to AAUP-WSU documenting the Members from whom dues were deducted and the amount of that deduction. The University shall levy no charge upon the AAUP-WSU for administering the payroll deduction.

32.3 The AAUP-WSU agrees that it will indemnify and hold the University harmless from any and all claims, damages, actions, or suits of any nature arising out of, related to, or in any way connected with the enforcement or application of this Article.

32.4 In recognition of the AAUP-WSU’s services to the NTE Bargaining Unit, each Member of the NTE Bargaining Unit who is not a member of the AAUP-WSU shall on the effective date of this Agreement or sixty (60) days after the effective date of appointment to an NTE Bargaining Unit position have a “fair share fee” deducted from his or her pay and forwarded to the AAUP-WSU. The AAUP-WSU will certify to the University the amount of the fair share fee, which shall not exceed the amount of dues for regular members of AAUP-WSU.

32.5 Members of the NTE Bargaining Unit who are members of AAUP-WSU shall have no dues or other fees deducted during the first sixty (60) days after the effective date of appointment to a Bargaining Unit position.

32.6 This Article is in all respects subject to O.R.C. Section 4117.09, including the rebate procedure and objector provisions thereunder.

Status of Negotiations about the Above Article

August 20, 2013 update

The parties reached tentative agreement on this article, and they initialed the TA'd article on August 19, 2013.

March 18, 2013

Our team stated that this article is the same as the corresponding one in the current CBA for tenure-eligible and tenured (TET) faculty, aside from inserted references to NTE faculty.

Return to the AAUP-WSU home page.

This page was last modified on Tuesday, August 20, 2013. Corrections, comments, and suggestions are most welcome. Contact the webmaster for this page (Jim Vance) at, telephone 937-775-2206. To contact the chapter, please see our Staff, Officers, and Committees page.