AAUP logo

CBC logo

Negotiations: Article 2, Recognition

Wright State University Chapter

American Association of University Professors


What are all these acronyms? See this guide.

The administration submitted the proposal shown in the table below at the March 5 negotiating session. Reports about the status of this article will be found below the article itself.

See our CBA Negotiations page for a roster of the AAUP-WSU negotiating team, brief reports about each Monday's negotiation session, and an article-by-article summary table with links to detailed information about each individual article that either the administration or AAUP-WSU proposes to include in the CBA.

Article 2


2.1 The University recognizes the AAUP-WSU as the sole and exclusive representative for the Members of the Bargaining Unit described below for the purpose of collective bargaining. Exclusive recognition means that the University will not deal with any other organization, or any individual, in a manner or for a purpose inconsistent with this exclusive recognition.

2.2 Individual contracts of employment with Members of the Bargaining Unit shall be consistent with this Agreement, and if inconsistent, this Agreement shall supercede.

2.3 The Bargaining Unit consists of all full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty employed by Wright State University. Excluded from the Unit are all department chairs and heads, all ranks of deans, all ranks of provosts, all ranks of vice-presidents, the President, all other supervisors defined by Ohio Revised Code 4117.01(F), all faculty within the Schools of Medicine and Professional Psychology other than those who are tenured or tenure-track, and all other employees not included above. (Unit certified by the Ohio State Employment Relations Board on 11 June 1998.)

2.4 The terms “Bargaining Unit Faculty” and “Members of the Bargaining Unit” and “Members” wherever used in this Agreement are defined to include only those faculty members who are included in the Bargaining Unit pursuant to Section 2.3. The Bargaining Unit Faculty recognized in this Agreement and the faculty recognized in the Agreement for Non-Tenure Eligible faculty are herein distinguished from one another, as necessary, by referring to them as either “NTE Bargaining Unit Faculty” or “TET Bargaining Unit Faculty.”

2.5 If, during the term of this Agreement, questions arise regarding the bargaining unit status of one or more employees, the parties will meet promptly to discuss the status of individuals and shall attempt to reach agreement as to their inclusion or exclusion from the Bargaining Unit. If the parties are unable to reach agreement as to the status of any individual within ten (10) days from the commencement of the discussions, either party may petition the SERB for a determination of the status of the position.

2.6 The parties agree to cooperate with each other in the enforcement of this Agreement.

Status of Negotiations about the Above Article

April 9, 2014

The parties tentatively agreed to (TA'd) the administration proposal shown in the table above, agreeing that the same language would appear in both the TET and NTE CBAs.

March 5, 2014

The administration proposed the above article for the TET CBA, with the presumed intention of including an analogous article in the TET CBA.

Return to the AAUP-WSU home page.

This page was last modified on Wednesday, April 16, 2014. Corrections, comments, and suggestions are most welcome. Contact the webmaster for this page at aaupwsu@gmail.com. To contact the chapter, please see our Staff, Officers, and Committees page.

Like us on Facebook!