Unclassified Staff Advisory Council


June 10, 2010
9:00 - 10:30 am

339 Fawcett Hall


Curt Pederson, Jason Kohlhepp, David Bringhurst, John Holm, Jerry Hensley, Mary Healea, Jacqueline Robinson, Brandy Foster, Craig This, Kary Brigger, Wendy Riddell, Jennifer McCamis, Jacqueline Neal, Lindy Lauterbach, Chris Wydman, and Rob Boley.

USAC Members Absent: Denise Anderson, Nancy Pestian, and Kiel Rottgen.

USAC Committee Members Absent: Kevin Knapp, Karen Strider-Iiames, Vivian Mitchell, Melissa Vanzant, and Megan Watson.

A. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Curt Pederson, USAC Chair, at 9:02 a.m.

B. Approval of Minutes for May 27, 2010.

The minutes were approved as presented.

C. USAC Committee Reports

1. Community Service - Rob Boley, Jacqui Neal, Curt Pederson - Jacqui has proposed in Staff Council for WSU to have a volunteer initiative similar to LexisNexis Cares program. She is checking to see if it's possible for Wright State to have such a program.

2. Compensation, Benefits, and Equity - Denise Anderson, David Bringhurst, Mary Healea, Jerry Hensley, Kevin Knapp, Jason Kohlhepp, Kiel Rottgen - The committee is still finalizing some of its policies and procedures and is in the process of what amounts to strategic planning on the issues earlier identified.Updated year end report.

3. Newsletter - Rob Boley, Kary Brigger, Wendy Riddell - A new draft is ready. Everyone is encouraged to review the draft and send feedback to Wendy.

4. Nominations - Denise Anderson, Rob Boley, Kiel Rottgen - The results of the election are now online. The new USAC members are Brandy Foster, Jamie Norris, Jacqueline Robinson, and Susan Wehmeyer.

D. WSU Committee Reports

1. Athletic Council - Vivian Mitchell - No report.

2. Diversity Advocacy Council - Megan Watson - No report.

3. Parking Services - John Holm - No report, other than a quick update on the new parking lot. The project has been downgraded a bit, and the new lot will now have 378 spaces. Curt suggested that the Parking Services committee rep be considered to become a 2-year term.

4. Semester Conversion Committee - Chris Wydman - No report, other than the calendar seems to be on schedule. Units have been encouraged to hire new advisors over the summer.Updated timeline.

5. Sustainability - Karen Strider-Iiames - No report.

6. University Dining Services - Melissa Vanzant - No report.

7. Wellness and Recreation - Craig This - No report.

8. WSU Bookstore - Mary Healea - No report.

9. WSU Staff Council - Jacqueline Neal, Mary Healea, Rob Boley, Curt Pederson, Chris Wydman - The final Staff Council meeting of the was held on June 9th, recapping the major issues of the past year and forecasting next year's most important issues. Major discussion points included the budget process for next year, working with the Staff Liaison to develop agendas, the HR survey, OPERS changes, and the new wellness program.

10. WSU SC President's Award for Excellence - Kevin Knapp, Chris Wydman - No report.

11. WSU SC Human Resources Committee - Jacqueline Neal, Mary Healea, Rob Boley, Curt Pederson, Chris Wydman - No report.

E. Other Business

Topic Discussion Follow-Up
1. Staff Picnic/Raffle The picnic is 11 am to 1 pm next Thursday, June 17th, with a rain date of Friday the 18th. The proceeds from the 50/50 raffle will go to the new Food Drive student organization. Raffle tickets will be one for $1 or 6 for $5. Volunteers are needed to sell raffle tickets and staff the raffle table. Mary Healea will accept money and leftover tickets.
2. Staff Development Day Staff Council is going to be responsible for planning these events after the July 22nd event. Moving forward, USAC and CSAC will alternate planning the events, held twice a year.  
3. HR's New Hours Office hours are now 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.  
4. Election Results The results are online.  
5. Recognition of Departing Council and Committee Members Curt recognized and thanked departing members and committee reps for their service. We will try to make sure that the Lake Campus Rep position continues.
6. Final Comments from Curt Curt didn't screw anything up. So there. Furthermore, Curt gave the Chair's Year End Report. Curt encouraged everyone to participate in the Master Plan process.
7. First Comments from Jacqui Jacqui offered thanks to the departing members and welcomed the new USAC members. Two areas she'd like to focus on in the coming year: to improve USAC communications, both internal and external, and to improve community service opportunities.  
8. Election of 2010/11 Officers Jacqui is now Chair, and consequently Curt is Past Chair. David Bringhurst was elected Chair Elect. Kary Brigger was elected Secretary.  
9. Summer Meetings and 2010/11 Schedule Jacqui proposed meeting on the second Thursday of the month for next year. Jacqui will send out the newly proposed schedule for review.

F. Adjournment and Next Meeting

The meeting was adjourned by Jacqui Neal, new USAC Chair, at 10:19 a.m. The next meeting is tentatively scheduled to be held in 339 Fawcett on Thursday, July 8th at 9:00 a.m.


3640 Colonel Glenn Highway - Dayton, Ohio - 45435
Copyright Information © 2006 | Accessibility Information
Last updated: Mon. Jun-28-10, 11:29
Please send comments to: robert.boley@wright.edu
Wright State University