Unclassified Staff Advisory Council


June 12, 2008
8:30 - 10:00 am

339A Fawcett


Lisa Bleeke
Mary Healea
Linda Hockaday
Patrick Kachurek
Jason Kohlhepp
Curt Pederson
Greg Kojola
John Sheidler
Mary Kenton
Karin DuChesne
Rob Boley
David Hurwitz
Kary Brigger
Barb Bullock
Jerry Hensley
Denise Anderson
Jacqueline Neal
Kiel Rottgen

The meeting was called to order by Barb Bullock, USAC Chair at 8:29 am.

I. Welcome by Barb Bullock and Introduction of Members

II. Approval of Minutes for May 8, 2008
The minutes were approved as presented.

III. Committee Reports

1--Athletic Council - Pam Berry-Griffis, Mary Kenton
May was the final meeting for the year. President Hopkins attended. The future of WSU Athletics was discussed. There are no plans for football. The group participated in the search for a new Athletic Director. Bob Grant was selected.

2--Parking Services - Wendy Chetcuti
There have been no meetings yet this quarter.

3--President's Award for Excellence - Mary Healea, Chris Wydman
The nominations are being reviewed. The ceremony is typically in September.

4--Sustainability - Barb Bullock, John Sheidler
The last meeting of this task force was May 27. Hunt Brown has conducted several group meetings. A student club is being formed. Earth-friendly products were discussed. An example of plates made from starch was shown. These break down in about one month when disposed of. The next food service contract might require some sustainability items. Sustainability information is available at the Physical Plant web site.

5--University Dining Services - Lisa Bleeke
The meeting minutes are attached.

6--University Diversity Advocacy Council - Denise Anderson
The meeting minutes are attached.

7--University Staff Council - Barb Bullock, Mary Healea, Greg Kojola, John Sheidler, Chris Wydman
There have been two meetings since the last USAC meeting. At the May meeting, short-term disability, health savings accounts, staff salary increase, staff survey summary, human resources advisory committee, wall of academic pioneers for staff and rewarding good ideas from staff were discussed.

At the June meeting, a review of the year was covered. Plans for the first human resources advisory committee meeting this summer were discussed.

Staff Council minutes are available at the Staff Council web site.

8--Wellness and Recreation - Jason Kohlhepp
The group has not met since the last USAC meeting. The picnic will be June 25th.

9--WSU Bookstore Committee - Mary Healea
There was no June meeting.

V. Old Business

1--SubCommittee for Unclassified Survey - David Hurwitz
The summary report was given to the Provost. He is reviewing prior to distributing. A special thank you will posted on the web for those who worked on this project.

2--SubCommittee for Nominations/Elections - Rob Boley, Jason Kohlhepp, Greg Kojola
Elections are complete. Things went well. Statistics on nominations and elections were documented. Future elections can be compared now.

3--Staff Development Day
The next one will be July 15. Hunt Brown and Mike Coons are two of the presenters.

4--USAC Reuseable Water Bottles
The bottles are here. They will be sold at the open meeting, picnic and by some USAC members. The proceeds will go to the Campus Scholarship Campaign.

5--June Open Meeting
The meeting will be June 17 in the Medical Sciences Auditorium. The meeting will be from 10-12. Dr Robert Sweeney will talk about Strategic Planning and answer questions. Announcements have been made. There will be a continental breakfast.

6--Emergency Announcements
No update.

7--Retiree/Faculty/Staff Picnic
The picnic will be on June 25th. The raffle will be 50/25/25 this year. Tickets will be sold before the picnic. Please help staff the table during the picnic. Water bottles will be sold also.

8-Wall of Staff Pioneers
This project will kick off next year.

VI. New Business

1--Web: What do Officers Do & Secretary Handbook
These documents were added to the web site to help future council members.

2--Recognition of departing Council and Committee members
Plaques were given to the outgoing council members. All outgoing council and committee members were thanked for an excellent year. Outgoing members are Barb Bullock, Linda Hockaday, David Hurwitz (also retiring!) and Greg Kojola. Incoming members are Denise Anderson, Kary Brigger, Jason Kohlhepp, Jacqueline Neal and Kiel Rottgen.

3--Election of USAC Officers for 2008-2009
Curt Pederson will be chair-elect.
Rob Boley will be secretary.

4--Final comments from Barb Bullock
Barb again thanked all the members for their hard work and the accomplishments this year.

5--First comments from Chris Wydman
Chris was unable to attend the meeting.

6--Selection of 2008-2009 meeting schedule
The meeting schedule from this year will continue for next year.

The meeting was adjourned by Barb Bullock, USAC Chair at 9:56 am.

3640 Colonel Glenn Highway - Dayton, Ohio - 45435
Copyright Information © 2006 | Accessibility Information
Last updated: Mon. Jun-16-08, 13:30
Please send comments to: greg.kojola@wright.edu
Wright State University